Christmas, 2021: To the Woods

The boys and I went over to the woods this afternoon after breakfast and presents. We took axes and fishing poles. It was Sawyer's first trip to the woods.

IMG_20211225_110040864.jpg
Hollow pecan tree with mushrooms in it

First stop was my lion's mane tree that I stop at every year. Sure enough, there were mushrooms in it that had already put off spores. Last year I took one large mushroom and left another one, as that's all there was. This year there were several smaller ones along with two larger ones, so I took both larger mushrooms. They're drying in the dehydrator right now to make a new batch of tincture. Good timing, I'm running low.

IMG_20211225_110037380.jpg
Two lion's mane mushrooms in a hollow tree

Then it was down the path to the creek. Sawyer got a little scared where it got narrow, so it was time for a lesson. If you get scared, you'll get hurt. You can't be all tense and shaky on a narrow path 20 feet above a creek bottom. He got over it and we got down like always. The boys wanted to stop and build a dam where we were to cross, which presented a good opportunity to teach about creeks and water and dams. I took the opportunity to show how their efforts made the water higher on the back side of the dam and didn't make it lower on the front side. This came in handy when we found a fishing hole.

IMG_20211225_112329616.jpg
Hobo on his first bridge/dam

The lessons continued when we got to a fishing hole. We chopped a small sapling that was in a bad spot, and learned about thinning the forest. People don't get out to these woods often, despite being next to a park. So we talked about taking care of a place and how it would become more appealing to us and others if we took good care of it. The boys learned that fish like deep water and hiding under logs. They had the idea that we could make such habitats with dams and chopped dead trees. Tending wild places.

IMG_20211225_113912224.jpg
First cast with the new pole!

I've taken up fishing as a hobby. We didn't eat the one we caught, but he would have been a serving for one of the boys. The hobby is cheap and relaxing. A good way to get outside, and an incognito way of getting food in an emergency if needed.

It was good getting out and showing the boys about stewardship of wild places. I'd love to be out here more. If life could slow down, I would be.

Sorry if anyone's noticed I haven't been around. I've been engaging more with the real world. We have three of a friend's pigs, I've been planting some crops, and I'm about to ramp up the rabbit space a lot. I switched back to a dumb phone a few weeks ago and also started refurbishing old axes. I started working at a local farm, so the busyness has compounded but I'm learning more and more. Lots of things to get busy on when the internet goes away.

Hope y'all have a joyful Christmas as well, and don't forget Christ is the reason.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wonderful to have an update on you and the family. Glad you are all well. The expedition must have been great fun for the boys!

They had a blast :)

How're things up there? We've still got full leaves on three of our peach trees here. Should finally have a good killing freeze this weekend though.

Cold, but not nasty cold, just enough to leave ice every day or so. So have to be careful if I go outside. Warm inside, have gotten the hang of the masonry heater now. Quiet this week, no workers so far. My snapdragon in the New West garden is still alive, as is the Lacinato kale in the Big garden.

Kale is one of those that'll grow pretty good in winter, right? I've been planting kale, radishes, and turnips, I bet they'll grow all winter here and they make good rabbit food.

They should do well in winter down there.

Great writeup mate, I really appreciate those information dense packages, instead of a daily ramble of nothing important. Thanks!

ps: We harvested a pig today, pics on Discord?

YES! I'm not on the internet daily anymore, too busy and working on some things, but I'll see it whenever I'm on.

good on you for real lifing.

Thanks! There's not a lot of dopamine out here, it's almost like talking about things on the internet is designed to be more chemically rewarding than actually making progress.

I'm not salty over it though. Not at all.

🤣

Do you know dogs get an oxy hit from their humans? Love is the true reward xx

May you connect, breath long and slow and deep, smell the scent of the soil, and feel the breath of God within you for 2022 and beyond xx

Great to see boys out in woods with you. I just started a reishi tincture after growing them for the first time..

Ooh, did you post about it? Share a link!

Not yet...

Dear @nateonsteemit,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!