You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: And they wondered: What's wrong with these people?

in The Herbal Hive2 years ago

I guess herbalism is a way back to the roots. The roots of humankind poetically, but basically also back to the roots of who each one of us really is. Herbalism is a journey inwards. You need to be honest to yourself in order to understand what you need and get back in balance. You need to study, yes, but you also need to learn how to accept all your parts, how to trust your intuition and be open to all this wisdom out there with open heart and open mind.

Lol - I could copy your own post and quote it here to say what I loved about this - all ofit! It's the post I wanted to write but couldn't find the words for, because I had far, far too much to say. I'll post mine tomorrow which went off on a slightly different tangent, then realised I missed half the stuff I wanted to say, and then you said it so I should probably just quote you instead!

Love Asia Suler. Love you.

I think leaning in and listening to plants wasn't something I realised properly until I started studying herbalism in earnest, especially following some of those great american herbalists I've learnt so much from. This intuitive connection and spiritual experience of plants was a whole world opened up - something I'd felt im my heart but didn't realise waas a whole THING.

Loved this response so much!

Sort:  

Thank you so much @riverflows for your amazing, uplifting comment!

I experienced this whole world opening exactly the way you describe it. It was life changing and how could it not be? It is a whole philosophy, a way of being in this world.
What is studying herbalism without feeling and trusting and what is learning without remembering what you already know.