You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time and Rosehips

Oh, how different this post feels! The narrative, the style, the unabashed life-death aspect of existence that you present raw and pure as it is. How you tried to beat the clock to get to those rosehip bushes. Makes perfect sense. What puzzles the mind is why all the other travelers keep speeding by even after reaching those bushes! In the end I had to remind myself that - in spite of your Mad Maxesque writing, you were probably not drying marsupial roadkill in your van, but the rosehips instead. Great writing, I enjoyed it a lot!

Sort:  

Thankyou! Sometimes I write a little more creatively, sometimes more functionally, depending on mood and time. I enjoyed writing this one alot. I did have to laugh about drying roadkill - I went back andread it to see what you meant 🤪😂

It's in your last paragraph, I'm sure you've found it. And no, it only has a double meaning if you really force it into it. However, the image that came into my mind inadvertently was so comically bizarre that I just had to mention it.

Btw, I once traveled with someone who would do just that: stop for roadkill whenever possible, especially for birds of prey, and hold a brief ceremony for them: remove them from the road, sprinkle tobacco onto them, and cut off a piece of its wing, to make a dream-catcher out of it later. This way they would end up as something more beautiful than flattened roadkill.

Wow amazing! What a lovely ritual. In the UK many years ago we would eat roadkill pheasant and deer.

Oh shit... I had the same thought sbout drying marsupial roadkill!!!! Haha

Hehehe, I'm glad to see we think alike! We really should make a mission out of it, and travel to Australia just for the marsupials. I can even see the conversation with immigration: "No officer, we don't want to kill your marsupials. We just want to scrape their bodies off the road to dry them in the van!" Hahahaha!