Build a Lego Land Rover Defender with me - Part 1 the prebuild.

in LEGO3 years ago

It's time to talk about my latest Lego purchase. It's the biggest set I've every bought, and well I'm quite intimidated by it.

It's the Land Rover Defender - Set number 42110 - it came out in 2019, has a huge 2572 and as you can see on the box is part of the Technic range

image.png

Technic has always scared me, maybe it's because I stopped buying Lego when I was about 9 years old and Technic back then was too old for me. But since I got back into Lego last year some would say I'm too old for it. Even now I was a little resistant to Technic - it didn't feel like Lego to me - but then I realised more a more 'system' sets were sneaking in bits of technic and I got used to it, I even bought a set (a rescue helicopter) and quite enjoyed it, Then my brother but the Technic Corvette for me, which I promptly built into a skull, but I really enjoyed it

And then I saw this set whilst looking at the boxing day sales at Myer (for none Australian's boxing day is the day after Christmas and is like Australia's black Friday from a retail perspective and Myer is a department store) - This set is usually somewhere around $300-$350 AUD so it's significant, but it was on sale at around $250, it still seemed like a lot so it took me a day or so to talk myself into it, and then as I often do I started to price compare and a secondhand version popped up on ebay for just under $200 - it was worth a chance so I snapped it up.

It arrived today and I'm still coming to terms with the challenger of it all. Even the box is huge. I was worried about the condition, as I new it had been built before and then disassembled for resale. But the box is in good condition, Are all the parts there? Who knows, but they have been organised into colours which will save me hours of searching. In the new set they are broken into 4 stages with the parts for each stage in numbered bags, so this won't be that easy but easier that searching through a few thousand pieces for that next piece.

image.png

Speaking of the build the internet tells me that it's four sections and each section is about 2.5 hours of building, now that doesn't really suit me, as I like to build in about 1 hour blocks as I listen to podcasts so I figure this is going to take me a while.

The big challenge is the gearbox apparently, if you don't build it correctly it basically doesn't work, so I think there will be a fair amount of concentration needed, but I have the instruction book to help - I handed the book to my partner and she said 'Christ this thing is bigger than the one that would come with the actual car." She's probably right it's 860 steps over 459 pages so yeah - I'm scared.

thumbnail.jpg

It's hard to explain the scale of this thing - when finished it promises to be 42cm long and 34 cm high - which I big - I don't even know where my going to put it.

image.png

I mean even the tyres feel big

image.png

I know it sounds like I'm freaked out by this thing, and about 10% of me is, but the other 90% is pretty darn excited and can't wait to get started, but I wanted to be in a good headspace to start and I need to get a few things done first, so I'm thinking maybe a start of this weekend

Wish me luck.

Sort:  

Get on it bro! I built this one about a year ago and it takes pride of place on top of my piano. It's a great build. Make sure you get the tolerances right with the gearbox or it will not work. Just saying.

That is what I keep reading - time to concentrate properly

Mine works fine, swaps cogs nicely and doesn't wind itself up when driving. Like always the gearbox is the first thing built so...Get it wrong early and...Well, the implications don't bare thinking about. 🙄

Ouch. lots of work by the book. Loooong time.
Great one. I'm sorry for me because lately i didn't have time to check #lego posts.
You made me get more attention. hehe
Thanks. :-)
Time to sleep here. :-(