Build a Lego Land Rover Defender with Me - Part 2 - just getting started

in LEGO3 years ago

So, after spending a couple of days of getting in the right head space for it I've finally commenced building my Land Rover from lego - For those playing at home here is the previous post:

Part 1 - Intro and Pre-build

So I got out all the bags and arranged them on the table, IThere isn't much chance I'm going to make much of a dent in the 2572 pieces today, but we'll see.

image.png

I readied the podcast I was listening to - The West Wing Weekly - we are currently re-watching this series that I love and listening to the podcast about each episode - we are also currently in the difficult 5 season so at the moment the podcasts aren't as great as they once were. Each episode is normally about a hour or so, and I have to get through 1 and half eps of the podcast before I'm caught up again, so that should be about 1.5 hour of building.

And there is only one place to start - Step 1

image.png

Well that 3 pieces down this is easy.

I was concerned as this was a 2nd hand set that it would be hard to find the pieces - but the colour coding of the bags is working well for me - The real concern might be if a piece is missing.

I'm being extra careful - gathering the pieces for each step - laying them out and then watching closely which way everything needs to face (on a system set I really go a little slap dash and often have to go back a couple of steps as I realise I've done something wrong.)

Pieces.jpg

But as I build I'm starting to get a feeling of what I'm producing - I've seen enough Wheeler Dealers to understand that this is a transfer case and some suspension arms appearing before me.

Makings.jpg

Of course I still made mistakes, in the picture above the brown piece on the left is upside down. I did notice it about ten steps later and thankfully it hadn't affected anything at that point, so easily fixed, hopefully it's the only mistake I've made so far.

And the podcast has finished and I'm at step 86 of 860 so exactly 10% of the way through - and it was about 1.5 hours which means this might take 15 hours all up - which is fine although I am on the difficult gearbox section so I think it'll get quicker.

Stewp 86.jpg

but today's build, and technic in generally is all about the moving parts so let's look at some gifs to see what's going on in this compact little unit.

Here is what I think is the main drive shaft.

Gearbox.gif

We have the suspension which, well it goes up and down obviously.

Suspension.gif

and the shifter which I assume will shift the gear ratios

Shifter.gif

Sort:  

You know, other than the gear movement, one of the things that is impressing me about that build is the sheer detail of it all. Someone actually gets paid to design that!

It is outstanding isn't it - I did read a interview with the designer of the set and the suggestion was that it was about 18 months work from concept to release.

18 months is an impressive time span! It makes a person begin to understand why Lego's are priced like they are.

Lol...It always starts with that H-piece.

I had so much fun building this set...I'm Sure you are too.