The Lego Kombi

in LEGO3 years ago

Full Shot2.jpg

When my partner is having a bad day at work (which is on our house, so I'm always around) I tell her she can quit if she wants, I then explain that we would then buy a campervan and head of around the country. Normally this makes her decide not to quit, sometimes she tells me that seems like a very good idea.

Full Shot1.jpg

So I Suppose it is no surprise that for Christmas she bought me a campervan - albeit a small one made of Lego that much like Zoolander is the wrong size for us.

This set is a absolute classic in the Lego world - it was very early in what would become known a the Creator Expert car range. There was boxy Volkswagen Beetle in 2008 (later replaced by a much better Beetle which my partner tells me she has her eyes on) and then this in 2010 - that's right ten years ago and Lego still has retired this and that's because it redefined what 'adult' Lego could be.

Full Front Close.jpg

This set which is number 10220 is called the Volkswagen T1 Camper Van. But is what I would call a Spilt Screen Kombi. It's one of those vehicles which is iconic that if you have even a passing interest in cars you'll recognize. And that is partly because of the classic unique features. The two tone paintwork, the classic V at the front, the huge silver VW emblem and of course the spilt front windscreen.

Full  Side.jpg

As for the build - well it is a lot of fun. the set is big 1332 pieces, including some unique ones like the chequed curtains which are hung there, not printed on the windows and the orange material around the 'pop-top' roof (unfortunately it doesn't make the inside of the vehicle any bigger.

Other highlights

This is a perfect example of this. The car itself was produced from 1950 to 1967 - this example is a 11 window - which is appropriate for the style converted to campervans by so many hippies in the late 60's and 70's

Detail  Engine.jpg

Other highlights the very cool air-cooled engine in the rear under a openable door.

steering wheel detail.jpg

and the very realistic looking cabin with the big gearstick on the floor and massive dials.

and then of course there is the campervan portion of the build - the rear has a very nice rear seat in blue and maroon but also a dining table complete with green wine glasses, some cupboards, shelves and a little sink for washing up (although I don't think hippies did that) and the black and white vinyl floor.

Taps Detail.jpg

table detail.jpg

and couple more highlight inside are a Lava lamp and a "make Lego models not war' poster. Unfortunately both of these are buried pretty deep in the model so they are close to impossible to photograph without taking the whole thing apart - I understand they are being true to life, but it's always a bit of a shame when you can easily see some of the details in the finished model.

I guess they could have made a removable or hinged roof, but there is already a lot going on up there. Cool wood panelled roof racks anyone?

Full Roof.jpg

So I built this back at Christmas (before the Land Rover which I told you about) and it has been sitting on our TV bench ever since - and after looking at it for weeks I decided to make a little baby version of it - which I like - a lot.

Baby1.jpg

Baby2.jpg

Sort:  

I've always liked the Kombi Van. I've had some Beetles in my time, but never managed a Kombi...Now they are so far out of my price range that I never will! Nice set.

Yeah they are not exactly the 'people's car' that made them the legend anymore

For sure. They fetch big money. They have a Volkswagen car show here every year and I usually go. There's a silver Kombi that just seems to get better and better each year. He's been offered huge money for it and will not sell. Loves it too much he reckons. He drives it too, not just to car shows, daily.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

That's a pretty detailed build, just like what we've come to expect from Lego.

What's funny is that I've had a very similar discussion of late. "Working from home" really means "Working from anywhere there's an internet connection," and I don't see why it can't be from a campervan. I would love to do that.