Epic Lego Build: Imperial Star Destroyer

in LEGO4 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

After reading the amazing Lego build posts by the great sir @galenkp, any news about Lego gets my attention and the other day I saw an article that REALLY got my attention fast!

A guy built a massive, custom, Star Wars ship after Darth Vader's Star Destroyer in Star Wars: A New Hope. This thing is 56 inches long and weighs 70 lbs!

He posted a 45 photo gallery on Imgur.com and goes by the name of Doomhandle. His model has 3 levels and dozens of figures.

5dbc6n.jpg
source

EhbA6Sw.jpg
source

All material are official Lego pieces. Unfortunately he doesn't say how long it took him to build it but you can tell this was a real labor of love and I'm guessing he's an engineer.

I'll just show you some of the photos and you can go check out the whole collection if you want to.

This is inside the Command Bridge:

5v6b4t.jpg
source

Here's a conference room on Level 3:

y3o6qf.jpg
source

Sith meditation chamber beside the conference room with a Dark Side Adept receiving orders from the Emperor's hologram. Light sabers are behind panels in the wall as pointed out:

1o8nf0.jpg
source

Level 2 with gunnery, sensor stations etc:

mld68g.jpg
source

More of Level 2 with medical bay, engineering stations, armory:

xxrfyg.jpg
source

Check out a closer look at the incredible medical bay:

2g03lk.jpg
source

Level 1 overview:

ycie10.jpg
source

Canteen in Level 1. lol:

1vizf8.jpg
source

Level 1 cargo and detention center:

t8qcnz.jpg
source

Hanger bays in Level 1 carrying four probe droids in the forward bay, a Sentinel class shuttle and 2 TIE interceptors:

67o3dl.jpg
source

Close up of the shuttle:

fjx66n.jpg
source

Here's Doomhandle's build from the rear, he took some creative license:

tyah64.jpg
source

And here is the official Lego Start Destroyer rear view:

w56mux.jpg
source

The official Lego Star Destroyer is 43 inches long, has 4,784 pieces, comes with 2 figures and costs $700!

omff3z.jpg
source

You can see all of Doomhandle's photos here
Obviously I only hit the highligts.
I don't know if he's done any other builds but I think he should be working for Lego!

Front shot of Doomhandle's build:

y0nixg.jpg
source

9ir66o.png

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!

-jonboy
Texas

PS- Check out this real life Lego man! lol...this guy, Frank Ippolito, created this Lego head using 14 pounds of silicon and he also made plastic hands.

lx4whj.jpg
source

He went to the San Diego Comic Con and was a big hit with the kids1

s1gxq7.jpg
source

Kinda freaky!

zod5mo.jpg
source

d25fwk.png</ center>

mv4t7d.png

xsfpf7.png

Sort:  

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 5.21% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy tonight steem-plus and thank you for the upvote!

Hey Lord Legoton! Where is your Lego beer can? Haha

That's quite some effort put into building this one, must have taken months!

Howdy sir nickyhavey! I wish I did have a Lego beer can even if it was full of Lego beer. About now any beer would do! I agree, that Lego build was amazing. The guy is probably a Brit because who else would have time to just sit around and piddle all day?

Maybe the rednecks whilst they are in between shooting snakes on their mowercycles and drinking lego beer?

lol...yeah that DOES sound about right!

Woah!! I used to love to play with Lego when I was a kid! Sure wish I still had some of them old sets!

Oh really? For some reason I never had any. Maybe they hadn't been invented yet, that's probably why! The old sets are probably collector items now?

Some of those older, retired sets are absolute collector items now. Particularly the classic castle and space themes.

OH thank you sir brickmanbrad! What decades would those be? I'll keep my eye open now!

You'd be looking at 70s & 80s sets primarily. Fort Legorado and the Classic Space Monorail are two that spring immediately to mind

Thanks brickmanbrad, I'll keep an eye out for these!

I guess I'm not too old! haha

Nah, you ain't old, you're just getting more experienced!

You have spoken......wisely!!!

It's truly incredible what can be done with Lego. This is another example. Imagine the effort that went into this considering he wasn't following an instruction book. I guess he had the original version to replicate in a bigger scale, but still!

I saw recently that a full-sized McLaren was built. https://www.motor1.com/news/149903/mclaren-720s-lego-goodwood/

I'm not sure if this is recent because I don't watch the news but it looks pretty cool. Only 2,000 hours to build. Lol.

I agree sir galenkp, the time dedication to a project like this has to be astounding. I went to that link you sent, wow! lol..amazing...what are they gonna build next? I think they can build anything they want!

what are they gonna build next? I think they can build anything they want!

I heard a rumour someone is building a Lego version of me, full-sized! But I can't say any more on that top secret project.

lol! That will be the post of the year! lol.

It's all top secret eyes only stuff at the moment so I can't say too much more.

Well with a project like that it's understandable. National security issues and such. lol.

That looks like a lot of time and effort... And money! Legos are so expensive these days. I wish I had more of the castle blocks, but don't think they make them anymore...

Howdy sir fotosdenada! It's amazing isn't it? The time, money, designing that went into that. So you had Legos when you were a kid? I never had any.

As a Lego fan and a Star Wars fan, I think I just peed a little bit. That is an incredible build and the attention to detail is nothing short of spectacular.

Thanks so much for sharing @janton, and welcome to our Lego community :)

Howdy sir brickmanbrad! I'm so glad you liked it, I was blown away by it too. You are very welcome!

Wow, this is a supersized project. I am impressed. The patient, the know-how, the keen interest...

Yes, not to mention the money! You should take up the Lego building hobby and post about the impressive builds you do sir Vincent!

Sure. When I get round to Lego building, I will post it on here.

lol...great sir Vincent, when can we expect the first post? lol.

When I am done with it - sometime in the future, maybe, or maybe not.😊

lol...thanks sir Vincent, don't forget about us when you finish it!

aww, how big, I've never had a Lego with so many pieces.

Howdy kathe-art! I know, I was blown away and I'm glad you like this one!

AYYY THIS DOPE AF

I agree sir stovehustler, astounding, glad you like it!

Boys and their toys.... but this is very cool

lol..yes exactly. In fact it's true that I've never seen a female Lego maniac! lol..I'm sure there's a few out there but that's funny.

no female lego maniacs because we are the ones picking it up from the floor .....

lol...good point anneke!

Superb!

Howdy mobi72.build! I agree and thanks so much for commenting!

...

lol! he's with the Dark Force! Maybe he's just a spy.

Great LEGO documentary.
No doubt LEGO is to live the dream.

Howdy mariita52! I agree, Lego is doig awesome things and bringing out better and better products. Thanks so much for the resteem, God bless you!

Thank you for your kind response.
I understand that now to have visibility in other communities if they are not in the first 5 labels you must give resteem. Now you have the option to do it yourself.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment