The abandoned

in Black And White3 years ago (edited)

A lot of my friends asked me to participate in photography competitions. I was pretty insecure about my skills being dragged into a competitions where there's judging and comparison, but I made up my mind and decided to go for it.

I was at the venue with my friend Sharik who had a digital camera, other participants pulling out their zoom lens subtly flexing by fixing hood onto it. Our coordinator came in and jotted the topic onto a board - LIFE.

While we were on our hunt for frames, I saw this man in his house playing with his dog. I went up to him and asked if I could take a picture of them both. Looking at the collapsing house with no human presence except for him. I realized something she had once written on her blog.
The world could be collapsing around him, alone and abandoned. But as long as he had a friend to lend an ear, even if they never said anything, he could get through another day. Just that belief, that he was being heard despite the fact that no words were exchanged, kept him going. That day, I realized how simple mans emotions were. And he found his support in someone equally abandoned as him.

DSC_2758-2.jpg

I left and searched for more, but this was the best picture I had taken that day. I submitted knowing that I had better competition. The results came in, my friend Sharik won!

I learned 3 things that day,
It's not about what camera you have, it's all in the frames or moments that you capture and the story it conveys
and
Your art's value is not based on someone's inability to see it, you have to appreciate it yourself first.
and
Dogs are actually friendly, yes I'm scared of dogs😅

and this is my entry for the #monomad challenge.

Sort:  

Congratulations @aad33l! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.