Hippodrome

in Black And White2 months ago (edited)

Yesterday we gave ourselves a proper break, as we had none since moving, my decision was not to go anywhere nor to meet anyone as I really felt like I wanna ME time, pj's with occasional snoozing on couch.

Well rested this morning soon after breakfast we headed out in the direction of woods with intention to reach the foothills by paths and visit one of my favorite city parks. Distance should last for around 25 minutes - map says, we knew it will last longer.

Less moody weather than it was previous days sent outdoor invitation to many walkers, and that fact made our small road trip even more interesting.

First surprise was waiting on us right after small climb up the hill, a wonderful panorama spreading over city that I have not had the opportunity to see until now The Ada bridge [photos above] is clearly visible from many parts of the city, but the moment with a view of the road and traffic is a totally different experience.

)

Spotting first bench to rest, as I mentioned trip should last for around 25 minutes, but at this point we broke the timing long ago. A pair of riders appeared out of nowhere in sight, otherwise Kosutnjak is a typical place where you can see horses on weekends, the deep forest and the terrain allow them to train and relax at the same time. No worries they will upset in passing by, all you have to do is stand still and make no sudden moves.

After few missed turns in woods we arrived to the civilization, a lot of civilization. Nice weather RSVP received a good response, and my fav park was full with people mingling around. Didn't took us long time to agree upon moving further without even trying to walk trough.

...and direction led us straight to the hippodrome, more horses!

It is typical for horse lovers to spend their weekends at the racetrack, because for some it is almost the only free time they have to devote to their hobby, the care and feeding of the horses is taken care of by staff and volunteers.

Expensive hobby btw...

Hence the horses we met in the forest, the position of the hippodrome is ideal so that they cover all needs.

What was very enjoyable to notice is amount of kids eager and willing to get to know this noble animal.

Any fans of riding around here perhaps?

Never had a chance to try my luck out, not sure how would I handle heights and movements at the same time.

Last peak through the wire fence before we reached stairs up the bridge.

This place should be visited more often on weekends, have no idea does it requires photographing permission or something, definitely it sends a warm inspirational invitation.

Ada bridge, settled nearby hippodrome, foothill perspective.

#monomad challenge by @monochromes,

Sort:  

I am looking at a map now, I think I have never been to Kosutnjak. Maybe just passed by? But definitely, I have never walked in that beautiful environment, nor ridden a horse.

Cool that you gave yourself a proper break yesterday 😇

Now you'll have a chance to visit it, or at least part of it.
It's a Belgrades gem.
Not typical touristic place, who has time for wandering around forest better stick on Kalemegdan :D

It's a lovely place. I enjoy horseback riding sometimes. And that bridge is a beauty at night, I saw it on Google. Those tension cables give it a cool look.

When was your last ride?

Bridge indeed grabs attention, few years ago I attended rave party settled underneath bridge (adana twins ada bridge-you can google it too), that was one of the best party experiences.

I saw it - interesting and I like it. But it was quite a long time ago, like the last time I went horseback riding, on 13 November 2021.

Two nights ago I dreamt I was riding a horse, I don't know if that counts.
😅

Seems it's time to remind yourself about that feeling :D must be a great expirience!

Beautiful place,,I like to see the racecourse, because I am also one of the connoisseurs of horse racing,however today you show some wonderful portraits of my brother.

Many thanks, is horseracing often seen at your place?

I can't see it, my tattoos have watched some of my horse racing events.