Monomad: Birds in Cold Weather

in Black And White3 months ago

Hello everyone. I am participating in today's #monomad contest with these photos.

1/1000, f/7.1 @400mm, ISO:4000

Last week, I went for a walk to Yoğurtçu Park near my home to try out the Sigma 100-400mm lens that a close friend of mine had just bought.

Since the lens costs about 1300 dollars - a high price considering the economic situation in Turkey - I asked my friend if I could borrow it and do some photo and video tests before I bought it, and he happily agreed.

The lens is a telephoto lens, so the first thing that catches your eye is how big it is :) Let me give you a brief information about telephoto zoom lenses; telephoto lenses are mostly ideal for wildlife documentaries, sports competitions, some concerts where you are far away from the subject you are going to shoot.

For example, the Sigma 100-400 I use is about 20 cm long at 400mm focal length and weighs 1.1kg. So sometimes you may need an extra lens tripod when using the lens because the weight of the lens affects the balance of the camera.

1/1000, f/22 @322mm, ISO:6400

For example, when I photographed this crow, I was about 20 meters away from it.

So it seemed very ideal for wildlife shots.
I don't know whether it was because of the cold weather or not, I didn't see any stray animals in the park that day, only birds.

1/1000, f/7.1 @227mm, ISO:6400

1/1000, f/7.1 @400mm, ISO:6400

1/1000, f/22 @400mm, ISO:4000
"No, dude, you can't eat that rock!"

1/3200, f/9 @326mm , ISO:6400

1/4000, f/7.1 @400mm , ISO:6400

1/12500, f/11 @400mm , ISO:3200

Let's talk about the negative aspects of the lens; the size and weight of the lens I mentioned above was not a problem for me, but the minimum aperture of 5 can be considered a disadvantage if you do not have a camera with a powerful sensor, your indoor and night shots may be a bit dark.

As a result, I am still undecided whether to buy the lens or not. I think for this amount of money I would be better off buying 2 lenses with lower aperture values.

Camera: Sony A7III
Edited in Adobe Lightroom

I just realized that this is a bit like a lens review article :)
Anyway, I hope you like it.
With love.

Sort:  

Birds are so beautiful and often time hard to capture on camera since they get startled by anything. Great shots!

oh yeah I've managed with high shutter speed until now, it felt weird to be able to take a photo while sitting on a bench :)

I see. Well, I guess there's no other way or birds would fly away.

I guess it depends what you really want to shoot. Having a good tele can be handy.
I keep thinking of Sigma 150- 600. I use Tamron 70-300 now and sometimes it is just not enough zoom for me :p

Yes you are absolutely right, it depends on what you want to shoot. Speaking for myself, I don't need this kind of telephoto lens except two or three times a year, but when I'm out and about with my friends and I go for a walk or I want to escape the city, it can create some great photos.

The Tamron 70-300 also looks like a very nice lens, although I haven't had a chance to try it. Being able to reduce the aperture down to 4.5 is very advantageous for such a lens.

To take a black and white photo, a right moment is needed which is clearly visible in this picture.

thanks :)