Monomad Challenge - The IBCC

ibcc16-bw.jpg
The Spire at the IBCC

The International Bomber Command Centre (or IBCC) officially opened in 2018 as a tribute to over 57,000 men and women who lost their lives as part of or supporting Bomber Command during World War Two. The focal point of the Centre is The Spire, which is the height of a Lancaster Bomber wingspan (102 feet). Given its position and height it can be seen across the City of Lincoln below.

ibcc-9.jpg
Inside the Spire looking up

It is 16 feet across at the base which is also the width of the Lancaster’s wing. It was unveiled in 2015 (prior to the official opening of the Centre)

ibcc-32-sepia.jpg
Max at a themed photoshoot

We were fortunate to be allowed to undertake an evening photoshoot there some time back. I managed to get a few shots with re-enactors (and Max who I had work with previously) before I left due to the poor organisation of the shoot.

ibcc-2-bw.jpg
Some of the many "Walls Of Names"

One of the main attractions other than The Spire is the Walls Of Names. These are 271 panels containing all of the names of those that lost their lives. It’s a little humbling to be honest. All of those people that lost their lives, sons, fathers, brothers, husbands plus wives, sisters, mothers and daughters in their supporting roles. And these are just the “Allied” airmen.

ibcc-11=bw.jpg
Any relation?

I found someone with my surname. I have no idea if he (or she) was a relation. My dad was in the Raf, but I’ve never looked into my family history, so I have no idea whether there is ant family link. And now, I am of the oldest generation in the family, I guess I will never find out.

divider-black.png

About me:

I can mostly be found shooting models, aviation, motorsports and, when I can, wildlife. But I enjoy most aspects of photography. You can find more of my work on the links below.

divider-black.png

Social Media
Facebook (Personal Page)
Facebook (Photography Page)
Instagram
PurplePort

divider-black.png

Website
https://brianbroganphotography.com/

Logo-header-v2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @bbphotography! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad third place is yours.
Thank You very much for participating and for being part of the Black And White Community!

@monochromes thank you very much.