Monomad Challenge || Red Cedar Sound Board

in Black And White2 years ago

IMG_20220731_161258.jpg

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge curated by @monochromes

A lot of my work during the week revolves around making pieces. There's tons of heavy duty hand work like use a wood plane and sanding. It's like that since I can't afford machines and have to work with limited space.

I've seen the #monomad challenge before but had never considered making post for it. It is weird watching the pieces in this tones as wood loses part of it's charmed if you replaced the colours. However, I have to admit, black and white photos are built different.

On this contrast of light and shadows, things that are not always available to the naked eye are revealed. It also let's me with the filters in the camera. At least, this phone has a good one.

This week, I finally decided to start working on this sound board. I made two out of this wood. Red Cedar is the name (tuna plicata). It isn't red not cedar. Some woods have this weird naming conditions. This is allegedly one of the best woods for sound boards in the world. The other being Spruce.

This one isn't used as much as Spruce since it's easier to get marks of it. It's also a big to remove them. The softer quality and flexibility even makes you think it's going to break. I think that delicate nature is boostered by this filter.

What I tried to show in this sequence of photos is the carving of struts and other reinforcements that make the sound board of a plucked-strings instruments.

IMG_20220731_161358.jpg

IMG_20220731_161428.jpg

IMG_20220731_161329.jpg

IMG_20220731_161500.jpg

IMG_20220731_161151.jpg

All photos were taken with my Redmi note 8 smartphone

Logo grabado en madera.jpg

Follow me on Instagram for enquires and commission.

If you'd like to help the workshop grow, you can make a donation here.

You can find me at discord as bertrayo#1763

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Welcome to our little corner :)

black and white photos are built different

Yea they are. You lose something, but you get all the textures and shadows more visible. To me monochrome is is also very calming.

Thanks! I thought I might see you around here! 😄

And indeed, it has somethinf charming and calming.

Congratulations @bertrayo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

Do you have any idea how long it took me to figure out what I was looking at in these pictures?😅

I have zero experience with instruments and I just found these pictures oddly familiar. That combined with you mentioning sound box is how I figured out after almost 20 minutes of staring that that was a guitar’s soundboard(unless even now, I still haven’t gotten it even though I think I do).

Oh, well. That happens. The mystery adds to the experience.

It looks really weird if you don't have a clue about instruments, but none is need to understand it.