The Old Tower

in Black And White9 months ago

I remember, well yes, I remember, because only six days have passed since then, I remember a colleague's post about a city, Sibiu, in my country, Romania. The colleague is from another country, Bulgaria, Romania's southern neighbor!

Our colleague is a very good photographer, passionate about black and white, in fact, most of his posts are black and white photos. Our colleague's name is @lightcaptured and this is the post I mentioned in the beginning: Bollywood in Romania. One of his few posts with color photos.

In this post, our colleague tells how he ascended a tower in one of the central squares of Sibiu, in order to take pictures from a height, and witnessed the filming of some sequences for an Indian movie.

Sibiu is also one of my favorite cities and I have visited it many times. I had intended to ascend that tower too, also to photograph, but I couldn't find the time to do so. I was surprised to see that my colleague from Bulgaria managed it before me.

From this, I got the idea to transpose some of my color photos taken in Huet Square, where the tower in the story is located, into black and white. Both as an homage to @lightcaptured and out of my conviction that an old thing looks better in monochrome.


The council tower in Sibiu, was built in the thirteenth century.


The small door in the last photo is the entrance to the tower. It was the entrance to the second fortification belt of the city. The tower is situated between two squares, the most beautiful in Sibiu. Main Square(Piata Mare) and Small Square(Piata Mica). The passage is through these small tunnels.



The hundreds of years old buildings in Sibiu's squares. Notice those small windows on the roofs of the buildings, which look like eyes. It is an architectural element specific to that region and its usefulness is not only to let the light in but, above all, to ventilate the attics of the houses.



This is my entry for the #monomad challenge.



After looking at @lightcaptured's photos again I'm not so sure that "my tower" is the same as "his tower". I'm inclined to believe that he took his photos from another tower nearby.



Sibiu is one of the most beautiful cities in Romania.


For me, it's easier to choose color or black and white. When I shoot in older places, places that remind me of the past, memories, and nostalgia, I like to change the photos to monochrome, especially black and white!

Sort:  

Huge thanks and I believe you are right, it isn't the same tower.
I will try to process more photos from there for reference and of course, visual pleasure.
I haven't been to the center of Bucharest so I can't compare but I loved the atmosphere of Sibiu.
With regards to Black and White it's more of a feeling that this abstraction makes my mind a bit more creative as it pushes for the imagination to add the colors...

!DHEDGE

I think I like Sibiu more than the centre of Bucharest. By the way, a few days ago I saw a lorry which came from Sibiu, probably it was for importing goods from Istanbul.

It doesn't even compare. Sibiu is much more beautiful.

Every time the pictures are converted to black and white, their beauty increases and your friend who is a very good photographer makes all the pictures look very beautiful.

I totally agree!

You got lovely photos, I love the black and white colour, it makes the images look unique