Monomad Photography Challenge - Crows

in Black And White2 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry into todays #monomad photography challenge.
16150703_DxObw.jpg
Click on any of the images to view at higher resolution

  • Main image taken with the Olympus E-M1 III and 40-150mm lens + 2x converter
  • Main image shot at F5.6, 1/2500Sec, ISO1000
  • Edited with Capture One and Aurora HDR

These are some shots I took at Halfpenny Airfield in Wolverhampton on a beautiful sunny day in June earlier this year. Crows are almost all black but the sun was getting quite low in the sky and I got this shot with the crows one wing fully illuminated by the sun while the rest of it was in relative shade.

My friend goes there regularly and had been putting some snacks down for the birds in the carpark at the airfield, where some crows always came over to feed on the snacks.

This was my second attempt at capturing birds in flight after familiarising myself with the pro capture feature on my Olympus camera. What a great feature for birds in flight!

Some more images
16150781_DxO_1bw_1.jpg

16151504_DxO_1.jpg

16150782_DxO_1.jpg

16150699_DxO_1_1_1bw.jpg

16150731_DxO_1_1_1.jpg

16150730_DxO_1.jpg

16162148_DxO_1bw.jpg

16161843_1bw_1.jpg

The image below was one of many magpies which where trying to pick up any of the scraps left over by the crows.
16150816_DxO_1_1.jpg

And here is a colour photo of the main building at the airfield.
16161766_DxO.jpg

Thanks for taking a look at my photography
@brianhphotos

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you ackhoo and the qurator team.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Stunning images

After my first few shot of an heron over a year ago, taking photos of birds and other fast moving objects has become tasking for me

Thanks.

In my limited experience of this type of photography I think you have to find a way to predict where your subject will be, ready for shooting, for the most successful results.

In my case with these crows when I put food down for them I saw that they would always fly up to a post above where the food was, before either flying away again or flying down to the food. This meant I could just point my camera at the top of the post and click away when a crow either flew to or away from the post.

This was much easier than trying to chase them around with the camera and lens.

Brilliant.

I think I used that method to achieve my first and only good result with this typa shot.

Thank you for the tutoring man

Lovely shots!!

Best Shoot,,, 👍 very expert,,,

Dear @brianhphotos,

Your support for our previous proposal has been much appreciated but it expired end of December!
Do you mind renewing your vote to our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work!
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

We wish you a Happy New Year!

@brianhphotos
this photo takes patience and time goes so fast when shooting a bird in flight. this is so amazing