Alpine Elk

Alpine Grazing bw s.jpg

The first time I ever saw an elk in the wild, it was standing on the side of I-75 going through the Smoky Mountains. Fast forward a decade or two and the largest herd of elk I've ever seen are blocking Trail Ridge Road in Rocky Mountain National Park. All the photos in this post are from that occasion, I'd run into backed up traffic and had just parked in the nearest pullout and went walking to see what was up.

Alpine Elk in Road s.jpg

I quickly discovered that jaywalking elk were responsible for the delay. I'd had no destination when I had set out driving so I decided to take advantage of the situation and get some photos.

Alpine Grazing 3 bw.jpg

When I was growing up they started a project to reintroduce elk into the area. It's apparently been quite successful, they now do a lottery to allow a few people to hunt them each year. I've still never seen any in that neck of the woods but one old boy was out deer hunting shortly after they reintroduced them and shot what he thought was the biggest deer he'd ever seen. He even took it into town to show off what he'd done! Unfortunately he'd shot an elk and it didn't end so well for him, on top of the fines he also had to pay to import another to replace the one he'd shot.

Alpine Grazing 2 bw.jpg

I posted the color versions of some of these not too long ago, these are for the #monomad contest by @monochromes. In addition to elk, black bears have made a comeback as well in the area I grew up. I don't have any photos of those though :( Any of yall have critters that used to be scarce in your area but are now much more common? I'm just hoping the bobcat is the next critter to make a comeback.

Alpine Grazing 4 s.jpg

All these photos were taken above treeline in the alpine tundra. Everything that manages to survive up there is slow growing and stunted compared to what's at lower elevations. It never ceases to amaze me how some critters can live and thrive in should a wide variety of environments and conditions.

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

J-walking elk. Where's the cops when you need them mate? Lol.

You say you parked, meaning you had a car. Is it possible to hike up here though? I'd say it would be a nice little stroll.

It's possible to hike up there, the continental divide trail goes through that whole area and there are plenty of others as well. Not sure how long it would take you through, thats in the 11-12 thousand feet above sea level range and all the campsites (the only lodging in the park) are 4-5 thousand feet below. If you have several days on your hands that would be one hell of a nice stroll but it might take a while :)

I think the cops were distracted by the bears breaking into peoples cars...

Ah ok, it's probably best to drive up I'd say.

Damn Yogi and his hoodlum friends...

That's funny about dude having to replace the elk. So big even he didn't know what it was. Eh that's funny.

I've only seen two bobcats, both in the Angeles Crest Forest in California. Never seen a bear in the wild. I'd like to keep it that way. Saw some cats.

You sure did a lotta growing up in this one.

My school mascot was a bobcat but nobody had seen one in decades. They seem like cool ass critters though.

The only bears I've seen in the wild were in Cade's Cove near you and just outside Boulder, Colorado.

By most accounts I still have a lot of that growing up to do...

You're about the 4th or 5th person to mention Cade's Cove. We almost drove out there last Friday but ended up doing something else, probably spending money on stupid shit we don't need.

It's about 70 miles from us, it's on the to-do list ASAP. I'll keep you posted.

Gorgeous pictures again colonel, you're my favorite photographer on this whole joint.
Calm down--I say that to everyone

Thanks (I think). Cade's Cove was the first place I saw bears in the wild but it's also something of a tourist draw so I've not been back much. Lovely place though.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

 3 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad third place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Also, and in case you didn't yet, feel free to join our Black And White Community.

Thanks so much!

Great photos! Reminds me of the Rocky Mountains in Alberta where wildlife was often all over the highway.

Thanks! I guess wildlife will do as they please no matter which part of the Rockies they're in :)