Birds and the Beach

in Black And White4 years ago (edited)

Birds at the beach s.jpg

A few years back I got to drive Highway 101 through Washington (and most of Oregon). One of my favorite spots from that little jaunt was camping in Olympic National Park. I hadn't realized until shortly before I got there that there's a small sliver of Olympic along the Pacific coast. Since I'd just spent the last month and a half in the mountains I was ready for some quality time with the ocean, once I found out there was camping right on the coast my course was set.

Birds at the beach 2 s.jpg

I'd planned on setting up camp and then spending most of my time out taking photos. Unfortunately, Mother Nature didn't think too highly of my plans, and between the wildfire smoke and the fog and drizzling rain that is the norm for the Pacific Northwest visibility was almost zero the entire time I was there. I spent 3 nights camping there and during that time the best it ever got was about 100-150 feet, so I mostly took photos of the birds at the beach.

Birds at the beach 3 s.jpg

The photo above gives you some idea of both the limited visibility and the large numbers of birds that were there. At low tide you couldn't even see the water from the high tide mark. While I didn't get to take much in the way of photos I did enjoy my time there, it was nice to relax and listen to the ocean and read, plus there was plenty of interesting stuff to discover walking along the beach.

Beach tree s.jpg

When you came down the steps from the campground to the beach, just about the first thing you noticed was this tree with most of the ground washed out from beneath its roots, you could even crawl beneath it. There was also a good deal of driftwood lying round, including what had to be the biggest piece of driftwood I'd ever seen. I took the photo below just to give you some idea of the scale of it.

beach driftwood s.jpg

Growing up I'd always went to the Atlantic and Gulf coasts, this was a rather different experience, beaches are supposed to be much warmer than that! It took a little getting used to but I enjoyed it mightily, if you're ever driving down the 101, it is worth a visit!

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Someone forgot to include a certain tag 😈

Oops... Let's remedy that real quick :D

 4 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad third place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Awesome, thanks so very much!