Critters In B&W

dusty_bison.jpg

Couldn't figure out what to do a post on today so I went scrolling through my old hard drive to see if that would spark an idea. As I was going through some shots from Yellowstone National Park I came across this one of a bison that was rolling in the dirt and dust. Critters it is!

ground_squirrel_bw.jpg

I'm bad to go out aiming to shoot some landscapes and wind up getting distracted and coming home with critter shots instead. It's kinda like when I'd go hunting as a kid except with less worrying about the game warden. This second shot is of a golden-mantled ground squirrel that was hunting itself a handout.

elk_in_bw.jpg

I once saw an elk standing on the shoulder of I-75 going over Jellico Mountain in Tennessee. It seemed a bit cornfuzzled... The elk in this photo is in Rocky Mountain National Park, he wasn't so much confused as annoyed that I was in his way.

mule_deer_in_bw.jpg

Mule deer like the one in the photo get their name from their ears. They're a western critter, around these parts there's only white-tailed deer. I wonder if mule deer jerky is as tasty as the white-tail kind?

chipmunk_in_bw.jpg

Last but not least we have the least chipmunk. Near as I can tell, these things live for people food. I managed to coax one into sitting on my shoulder by pretending to have some once. Don't think I've ever managed to camp in the western US without seeing at least one of these things.


All these critters are making me hungry so that's probably enough for now. Anybody want a pet bison?

Sort:  

Beautiful critter shots! These are awesome, and I always enjoy the writings you add to your photos. My favorite is the bison rolling in the dirt, loved the look of the little flowers near it, contrasting with the massiveness of the animal.

Thank you! I'm a bit fond of that one myself, the bison was an old bull that had wandered off to enjoy himself some peace and quiet. You ain't kidding about them being massive, once had one wake me up grazing at the foot of my sleeping bag, that was waaaay too close to something that big, especially early in the morning.

Thanks for dropping by!

I love your photos especially the first one for no particular reason 😀

Thank you!

for no particular reason

🤣🤣🤣

Beautiful animals🐰. The squirrel is too sweet🐿

A bison rolling around in the dirt doesn't seem like an invitation for a pet! Such powerful creatures. Thanks for sharing the critters.

Lol, they can be a mite bit unfriendly sometimes. I'm sure somebody has at least attempted it by now 😅

Thanks for dropping by!

Ha. Surely someone has.

Fantástico conjunto de imágenes, siempre es difícil hacer blanco y negro con animales!... Muy buen trabajo. La del bisonte es un portento. Bravo!

Eso que hermosas fotografías, su nitidez y su cercanía me encantan

¡Gracias! Todavía estoy asombrado de que me hayan dejado acercarme tanto como lo hicieron.

Que cómica la pose de la ardilla jeje

Simplemente no intentes acariciarlo, se emocionan un poco y tienen dientes largos y puntiagudos.
😎

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hey @ecency, just wanted you let you know that whenever I click on the logo in the upper right corner that usually takes me to my feed I've been getting this instead

image.png

 2 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad second place is yours.
Thank You very much for participating and for being part of the Black And White Community!

Thanks so much y'all!

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment