Macro Experiments (Part 2)

tulip_macro_2.jpg

I prefer to learn by doing, so instead of actually reading up on using a macro beforehand I've just been going out shooting and then trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'll probably cringe at posting these in a year or two but I like'em now. It was kinda windy when I was out shooting these and I wasn't using a tripod so getting what I wanted in focus and getting it to stay in focus was constant challenge.

tulip_macro_3.jpg

It may just be me but these seem to have a bit of an abstract feel to them. I hadn't set out to shoot anything like that but it just seemed to work out that way. I don't know about y'all but when think of macro shots one of the first things that comes to mind is all those closeup shots of insects with every tiny detail in focus. When I was out taking these I quickly realized that I was not going to be pulling that off just yet so when I got back to the house I had to get on the interwebs and figure out why.

tulip_macro_1.jpg

This led me to discover something called focus stacking, which requires a tripod and less wind. I haven't got to try it yet but you basically take multiple shots with different parts in focus and use Photoshop to combine it into one shot. I intend to take a swing at this soon although the tulips are done for the year so I'll have to find something new to shoot. Irises are starting to bloom. . .