May You Live In Interesting Times

in Black And White3 years ago (edited)

humvee 1.jpg

A while back I came across the title of this post, attributed to the Chinese as an old curse. Upon further research I discovered that it is most likely a western invention that was just credited to the Chinese but it still seems appropriate and fitting for the times we are living through. I keep catching myself doomscrolling the news, seeing all the photos of the National Guard racked out in the halls of the Capitol gave me the idea for this post.

humvee 2.jpg

I may have a bit of a dark sense of humor but on some level I found that a bit amusing. Last year the National Guard was deployed to Louisville at least three times, two of which came with a curfew as well. To see the ones supposedly in charge of this country and responsible for the many clusterfucks we are currently embroiled in discomfited by metal detectors and armed troops is at least slightly gratifying (Yes, I indulge in schadenfreude).

As those of you that have been following me for a while are probably aware, I spent a good deal of last year at the protests here in Louisville, Kentucky. The scenes from the nation's capitol last week came as little surprise, the ones responsible for the storming of the capitol (and their ideological kin) were an omnipresent threat throughout the protests. Protesters organized their own armed security because we were afraid that LMPD would do as good of a job 'protecting' us as the Capitol Police did protecting the Capitol Building last Wednesday.

humvee 3.jpg

In addition to my camera gear I regularly carried a medkit and pistol, I'm still amazed that neither proved necessary. Derby Day last year came within a hair of making last Wednesday's festivities look like a barroom brawl, 200-300 heavily armed militia types waving a bunch of the same flags marched into downtown and clashed the outnumbered protesters. As we had suspected, LMPD stayed hidden until cooler heads prevailed and the militia types marched away before they showed their faces.

I hope that the polichickens in DC are spooked enough to get their heads out of their asses and try to solve some of the problems we face, but I'm not holding my breath. I don't know about y'all but I was kinda hoping we could leave all the plot twists back in 2020 but it looks like 2021 is shaping up to be interesting times as well.

Y'all be safe out there!

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal