You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: holding space

I forgot about hair stylists, was thinking of bartenders and servers but aside from the booze I imagine that's much the same. Licensed here too, had a friend who'd graduated from massage school but never actually took the test to get the license, so she did it on the sly and had to deal with an insane amount of gross, sketchy bullshit. Lol, I bet that scope of practice comes in handy.

I used to have a rotating cast of characters that'd come sit on my couch and tell me all their troubles. Could never understand why, don't think therapeutic will ever be a word that describes me and certainly didn't then. Lol, you should just start handing your therapist's card out to everybody that comes to you.

Sort:  

Could never understand why, don't think therapeutic will ever be a word that describes me and certainly didn't then.

I'm guessing you're the listening type. I bet people tell you their life stories in the grocery line, too.

Your poor friend. I see the reasoning behind not wanting to get licensed but man does it ever protect you from general sketchy gross bullshit with all the professional environments available. Not that gross sketchy doesn't still happen there, on occasion. I work at a clinic with doctors and the stealth creeps still manage to sneak in a "has anyone ever thought this was something else" every once in a while.

I do refer to my therapist sometimes, but not too often, because she's amazing and I need to be sure she still has time for me.

I bet people tell you their life stories in the grocery line, too.

Oh god, everywhere. Most insane night of protests (my life?) here in 2020, I'm strapped and acting as perimeter security for the church that was sanctuary for protesters, ended up having to deal with two different people doing that. It was so fucking absurd. First one said "Oh" and left when I let him know I wasn't traffic control/parking, I was there in case the militias showed back up. Second one was a teenage runaway type that I finally had to tell 'look, you're calling attention to my position and I can't have that.'

Yeah, there was some substance use issues involved as well that didn't help anything either. I think she was mostly finding clients on craigslist, it was bad.

Ohhhhhh, she was THAT kind of massage.