Reflection // The Ones That Got Away (AGFA APX 400 35mm)

006.jpg

I love shooting on film. I am often asked why, and to be honest I didn't really know the answer for a very long time, but today I think I do.

005.jpg

For me, it's got a lot to do with the element of surprise. I don't process my film rolls immediately, I throw them in a mixed box, un-dated and every so often I grab a random bunch of them and send them off for processing. When the scans return I get a mixed bag of pure nostalgia.

001.jpg

Sometimes the rolls are years apart. It provides me with randomized glimpses into my past, both recent and old. I find endearing images of friends and family, sometimes of someone who has been lost, and it really is the perfect experience.

003.jpg

I recently separated from my wife. It was initially her idea, but I have warmed to it and it's probably best for everyone. We co-parent our Son, so sometimes an emotional picture pops up. For example: the first image is of my ex-wife and it was taken the night our son was conceived.

002.jpg

So yeah, long story short. Put down your phones and DSLRs now and again and go old school, you will never regret it.

004.jpg

Have a nice day,
Cotton.

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Awesome, keep up the good work yourself! Curators make this platform buzz! 🥰

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Cheers, keep curating, it makes this platform great 😃