Are you a Lake or Sea person ? Monomad

Sweden has more than 22600 lakes. Ranked 5th in the world, just after China that has 23800 lakes. Considering the size of Sweden that is pretty impressive and no wonder lakes tend to be my favorite subject matter when it comes to photography.

C9D7B491-8BD5-4F42-BEDB-20919679EB6F.jpeg

For me I like lakes more than the ocean, the reason is because I can connect better with a lake. The ocean goes out into infinity while a lake is something more tangible that I can grasp and form a relationship to.

FB190F8B-9FFE-46F5-A34C-3C97105568A0.jpeg

I usually travel to many different lakes through the year and seasons and each lake holds special memories that I often reflect on when I do visit them.

8FA1AB94-CCB3-43E8-B89F-424168CA2AC7.jpeg

I never get bored of lake because there is always something left unexplored when I leave. I love both hiking and fishing and both are awesome ways to view the lake from different angles.

2B09513A-A7C5-4FD5-BA08-B0333502C13E.jpeg

Sometimes just changing the viewpoint a little bit makes it feel like you’re seeing the lake again for the first time.

06406BBA-5C5F-40B7-87C9-D1329FD93B8C.jpeg

So how about you do like lakes or the sea/ocean better ?

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Big thanks !! :)

I do like the sea but I think I like rivers more because they can take you to defined places. You can go with the flow or fight against it. Especially if you are into kayaking. It’s more elemental.

Yea Rivers are definitely special, I love them too ! This lake close to where I live have a really awesome river connected to it where you can go canoeing. I did it once when I was small and want to do it soon again !

Happily, we don't need to choose 😃 I like lakes and seas both. As for sea near the city I live, St.Petersburg, Russia, I would say I am a lake person because Gulf of Finland generally is dull but lakes are marvellous around the city.

St.Petersburg is beautiful ! I haven’t been there yet but seen pictures. There are some nice rivers flowing through this city as well if I don’t remember wrong ?

Yes, the city is located in the mouth of a large river, the Neva River. It connects the Ladoga Lake (a huuuge one) and the Baltic Sea. There are many sub-rivers in the delta and canals too. Now, every river is frozen.

Screenshot 2022-01-16 at 13-27-09 Google Maps.png

That’s cool ! Kind of similar looking to Stockholm in a way with all the channels running like veins through the city ! Definitely many places I want to visit and I can’t wait till things get better with Corona. How is the situation over there, you guys have lock downs and a lot of regulations ?

People say St. Petersburg looks like Stockholm in some way + the same climate. I have never been to Stockholm (but I would like, of course) because it was too far from me 😃 - I usually spent my time in South and Southeast Asia last years before covid. + I need visa - and visas are boring. There are (were?) direct ferries from St.P to Stockholm.

Not many regulations. Most people don't wear masks in shops and public transportation although they officially must. At the same time, the government is trying to make people use QR-codes (as a proof of being vaccinated) and nobody likes it. I think the government will give up trying.