Calm before the Storm - Monomad

5F9D7DDD-7977-46C7-B775-4AED3714E6BA.jpeg

“What I like about photographs is that they capture a moment that’s gone forever, impossible to reproduce.” — Karl Lagerfeld

For me pressing the shutter button is a very powerful moment. I have essentially locked a moment in time, that thanks to the digital era, and non the least this blockchain, eternalized that moment. These photographs were taken just before an incoming storm, and for me it’s a powerful thing to capture, especially using monochrome as it’s almost like a battle between the black and white colours in the photograph.

83754665-71BB-47BD-942D-70948F3637AF.jpeg

I remember standing out in the water, and everything was perfectly still, although you could feel an incredible electricity building up In the air.

B1341209-CA94-4DB7-89BF-C223828FC60B.jpeg

This moment didn’t last very long, and suddenly there was thunder and shortly after followed by rain. But thanks to these photos I can still go back there remembering the calm before the storm.

Sort:  

I know what you are saying, but, now that the words are down and I look at them and read them, somehow, it all seems rather poignant. The stillness fills the air. It is exactly this that I never want to lose. These moments are attached to this time.

Thanks so much for your words, Dan. Have a great night.

wonderful. ❤️ how magical.
1st photography looks like something that should be in national geographic. Mooddy work dear @dandesign86

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment