Holding the future in your hand

If you asked me a few years ago, what do I think when I hear the word future I would pretty much right away tell you about that house by the lake that I would want to live in, and of course my career advancement, and that I would travel more.

EA553FA5-7FE3-4414-904E-A7A637F3ACA3.jpeg

And just like that, everything changes when you hold your child’s hand. If you ask me today what I think of the word future, I’m no longer the Focal point, my son and family is. I still want the things I wanted before, but in a different way. I don’t want it for me, I want it for us. That for me is an even stronger motivator.

6CAF892D-5576-4B12-8094-B4E91A64E432.jpeg

The first photo was taken when my child was new born. The other photo was taken today. 1 year and 2
months has passed and so much has happened in such a small period of time.

These photos were taken with my smartphone, so the quality is not great, and the composition and light is not very good either. But still it’s some of my favorite photos and I can’t stop looking at them, because I don’t have to chase the future for what I want and need, I’m already holding it in my hand.

This is my submission for #monomad

Sort:  

Awe. So true Dan You really are holding it in your hand. Enjoy!! My youngest is 17 now. It's like i blinked and it's over. ❤

Wow already 17, it’s crazy how time flies ! I’m doing my best to make sure to treasure every second of this time, each day it feels he’s learned something new, it’s wonderful to follow his journey !

Parenthood is one amazing and ultra special adventures. Enjoy your chance as much as you can Dad. I know i did/ do, and it still feels like i want more! Lol ❤❤

Beautiful! The most valuable things that can be held in the hands are the heart of your spouse and the life of your child. You've got the riches that escape so many who search for a lifetime yet never find that 'gold'

Yea definitely! So many people look into the future and wait for happiness. It's much better to enjoy it here and now :)

Looks like something from spirited away, so lovely article and emotional ❤️