Monomad: Insect Portraiture

in Black And White2 years ago

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge.

Brimstone Butterfly-0050PP.jpg
Brimstone Butterfly

Thank God its Friday... it's been a long week, but no worries as it is now the Weeekend, and time to relax and have some fun. I often write about my Insect Portrait Project, the aim of which is to showcase the fascinating wildlife lurking in the grass beneath our feet.

These are usually in colour as many insects are bright and colorful, but some times I like to have a bit of fun and turn them into to 'proper' mono portraits

Jumping Spider - attulus pubescens-7559PP.jpg
Jumping Spider

So here we go.

I went through some of my images, and plonked them into photoshop to re-edit them... I de-saturated them and adjusted the highlights and the contrast and voila!

I did do a post similar to this nearly two years ago, so I thought it was high time I had another go at it.

Earwig-0004PP.jpg
Common Earwig

Nomada goodeniana-0131PP.jpg
Nomad Bee

Scarlet Lily Beetle-7542PP.jpg
Scarlet Lily Beetle

Some of these work better than others, a case in point is this Scarlet Lily Beetle which, as its name suggest, is a bright red colour. As an image for its own sake, I still think its interesting (...I am definitely biased haha!)

I'm off to go and enjoy my weekend. Not sure what I'm doing yet, but the weather seems reasonable so will probably head out for a wander in the sunshine. I'll take my camera too, so if I spot something interesting you'll be the first to know ;-)

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

These are fantastic Dan. They work beautifully in black and white

Thanks Brian! I think I prefer them in colour to be honest, but converting to mono gives a nice 'feel' to the image... and its always good to try different edits to see what works (and what doesn't)

That beetle sure is dapper, walking around all shiny with that walking stick.

The reflective surface underneath your bugs makes me want to try something like that with my crows. What material is it? Or is that your trade secret... I wonder if my crows would stand on it without scratching it and without pooping all over it.

Loading...

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am