Monomad - Portraits

in Black And White2 years ago

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge.

For this set of images, I am going to return back to the charity shoot I took part in back in December feel free to check out previous posts Here and Here for more information.

LTEC-Liv-5827-1BWPP.jpg

Aside from the obvious benefits to the charity involved (£600 is not to be sniffed at!), one of the best things about these sorts of events are a chance to work with lots of different people in several different set-ups.

To begin with we have Liv here on a white background. In this set up are two lights, one either side of the model, and the problem with having two equal lights is the resulting images often look quite flat (due to lack shadows or definition). I tried to turn one of the lights down so the light wasn't as even... and couldn't see any difference, so I just turned it off.

You can see that in the two images here (above and below). If you look at the eyes, you can see a single catch-light in each eye (the white speck in the centre of the eye).

LTEC-Liv-5830-1BWPP.jpg

This shows there was one light source, coming from the left side of the picture. One Light Source also results in shadows on the other side of the image, which makes for a more interesting image in my opinion.

The next image shows a different set-up with two lights:

LTEC-Rachel-5701-1BWPP.jpg

Here, the difference in the image is obvious. The background has no shadows and the model is evenly lit. If you look closely at her eyes you can just make out two catchlights in each eye.

And even if I change the background to black, you can still see the two catchlights in each eye. If you look at the image below, I hope you can see that the model is evenly lit (no noticeable shadows)

LTEC-Rachel-5992-1BWPP.jpg

Its not a bad thing to be evenly lit by the way. I'm happy with how all 4 of these images turned out, and besides, a lot of fashion portrait stuff generally wants plenty of light.

At the end of the day photography is subjective... different people like different things (or looks, or approaches, or styles) and it just so happens I find the single light set-up to be a bit more to 'my taste', hence why this shot of Liv was one of my favourite shots of the whole day.

LTEC-Liv-5827-1BWPP.jpg

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

 2 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad first place is yours.
Thank You very much for participating and for being part of the Black And White Community!