City airs at night || Monomad

in Black And Whitelast month

Hello black and white friends. Taking photographs at night has always been a challenge for me. Capturing those few to medium lights almost always at slow shutter speed makes me hold my breath at the moment of the shot. And if you are in motion much worse. I respect and admire photographers who manage to record a wide range of grays without blowing out the highlights or oversaturating the darker tones. With a tripod you can experiment more, it gives you more variants and options of visual registers, but it is not the case here, you are a capella, that's why there is always a bit of movement.

night 08.jpg
night 02.jpg
night 07.jpg
night 04.jpg

My camera is a mirrored one and there is always a little movement almost imperceptible, but there it is. Or it could be that I'm not very good at this kind of shots, it could also be that I'm not very good at it. Anyway, I propose a series of images of my Havana at night and some in motion. With these photographs I want to make my entry to the daily challenge #monomad. I think that at the end you can breathe a tropical city air. I hope you like this proposal, see you!

night 03.jpg
night 01.jpg
night 06.jpg
night 05.jpg


Español - Click aquí


Hola amigos del blanco y negro. Tomar fotografías de noche siempre ha sido un reto para mí. Captar esas pocas o medias luces casi siempre a baja velocidad de obturación me hace contener la respiración en el momento del disparo. Y si estás en movimiento mucho peor. Respeto y admiro a los fotógrafos que logran registrar un gama amplia de grises sin explotar las luces o sobresaturar los tonos más oscuros. Con un trípode si se puede experimentar más, te proporciona más variantes y opciones de registros visuales, pero no es el caso en cuestión, estás son a capella, por eso siempre sale un poco de movimiento. Mi cámara es con espejo y siempre se registra un pequeño movimiento casi imperceptible, pero ahí está. O es que no tengo demasiado oficio para este tipo de tomas, también puede ser. De todas maneras les propongo una serie de imágenes de mi Habana de noche y algunas en movimiento. Con estas fotografías quiero hacer mi entrada al reto diario #monomad. Creo que al final se respira un aire citadino medio apagado y tropical. Espero les agrade esta propuesta. ¡Nos vemos!


Both the text and the images are of my authorship. Text translated by DeepL, my native language is Spanish. Nikon D5100 camera.