A little pain never hurt nobody.

in Black And White3 years ago (edited)

Thelocactus hexaedrophorus spines bw.jpg
Thelocactus hexaedrophorus

I had to put up some shading for the sunny part of the balcony today where I keep all my cacti. Despite the common though that they do like sun, they also get sunburn easily. In their natural conditions most of them gets some protection from taller plants or rocks. Direct sun for hours is never a good thing.

The job took me about 15 minutes + another few to take all the spines out of my fingers.

Sure, I could move all the pots away and stay safe... but where is the fun? :p
(Am I right @bulldog-joy, am I right? ;p)

gymnocalycium mihanovichii spines bw.jpg
Gymnocalycium mihanovichii

That made me look for some of the evil ones and show them off. One of these days I will have to take some more photos. I normally pay attention to flowers, but the spines are pretty cool too! And some cacti I actually grow because they look nice when not in bloom.

Lobivia no ID spines bw.jpg
Lobivia no ID

This is one of the 3 I have with hooks. And they do what they were made for. They will attach to anything that touches them. To the point that I sometimes notice it only after I move my hand away and there is a little offshoot hanging from my fingers. It is not this one. Another Mammillaria does that. I will make a separate post about her one day, 'cause she fully deserves it.

Mammillaria bombycina hooks bw 1.jpg
Mammillaria bombycina

Mammillaria bombycina hooks bw 2.jpg
Mammillaria bombycina

Mammillaria magnimamma spines bw.jpg
Mammillaria magnimamma

And then, among all those mean ones I have few like this, with spines so delicate and completely flat that it almost feels like a smooth surface.

Epithelantha micromeris spines bw 1.jpg
Epithelantha micromeris

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

Sort:  

But a lotta pain sure did hurt somebody!!

A lotta pain is a different story :D

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Looks great in black and white!
I pulled out thorns from my finger today :-)
But one remained, she does not want to part with my finger!

Haha it likes you :D

Yes, and I just can't get rid of it :-)

I really love hooks, but I don't know if the next gif is a dream or a nightmare 🤔 beautiful pictures btw.

untitled.gif

These are some wonderful images. You really do have a great eye for shots in Macro! Well done B&W treatment, too!

Thanks a lot! Some of them really look amazing in BW with those huge spines.

Awesome post

Thanks!

Epithelantha micromeris is very bombically beautiful!

She is! The little spines are completely white. It looks like a snowball :)

Is that so? And I always see that cacti are kept on windowsills where there is a lot of sun. I myself try to give them more direct sunlight. How illiterate I am.

It all depends on your geographical location I guess :) You probably could leave them outside (or on window sill) for most of the day in Russia or Poland and they would be fine. The day is shorted and sun is not as harsh.
If I leave them here on a full sun they get sunburn. Most of them will. Some will change the colour, some will die.
Where they come from they hardly ever get full sun all day long. Unless its those huge, tall dessert ones.

I understand you.
But I thought the cacti were from Mexico. And there's a hot sun.
And now I thought-maybe I really saw the burns on the cacti? such spots are dry.

Some cacti are from Mexico. I think majority of mine are from somewhere in South America where they almost always have other plants growing near. Some of them will grow on side of mountains where the sun is shining for few hours. They also will be protected by rocks sticking out here and there.
Generally they are used to high temperatures (except the ones that grow higher in the mountains), colder nights, but not necessarily direct sunlight all day long.
Some have thick spines that will protect them from the burs and are more resilient than others.

Have a look:
Echinopsis is one of the most common cacti.

image.png
source

And Mammillaria bombycina that I have on the photos above growing on rocks in Mexico :)

image.png
source

such spots are dry

Yep :) Looks like light brown crust.

Don't you make tequila? ;)

Haha nope :D

Ooh, I want that Epithelantha micromeris

I just want it not to die!
I have 6 of them and I am afraid to move them :P

Why would moving be a problem?

Too much sun, to little sun, to much rain... Oh I dunno :p It's more about moving from the tray they are in to separate pots. They are growing. Slowly, but growing.
I had a bunch of them and that's all I have left.

Ugh, yes. This year has been brutal on the plants. Too much rain, and no sun for 3 weeks, then too much sun and heat....

Ouchie! Like the “evil ones” comment 😁

Haha sometimes that's all you hear from me when I take care of them.

I really like the look of the Epithelantha micromeris you captured. The macro and especially the black and white add a new dimension to the image. I'm now wondering what it would look like in color.

Thanks for the help today, I may call on your expertise again :)

Thanks! I will make a post about it soon :) It is a super pretty little thing.

No problem at all!
Shout if you need any help :)

Ohhhhh you are soooooooo right!!!!!!! No pain no gain ;)

Can you believe that I wasn't online for 7 days 😱...things are breaking around me lol.

But today I am back 😁... You missed me right @ewkaw??????

Hello, first let me congratulate you on your work, now, I have a gigantic question, and since I don't know how to communicate in Black And White, I ask you as an administrator: Why have they hidden my publication? according to you for low ratings! I do not understand, if it is a work of my authorship. Please clarify my doubt, because it is not good for me that they are hiding my work without knowing why they are doing it.

Hi and thank you!
From what I see that post has drawings. The group is strictly about photography, so that one post was hidden from the feed.

You can always join our discord and ask there if that is easier for you. It is also faster to communicate.
https://discord.gg/4CZgMhc

Ah okay. I understand. I'll post a new one then and post my drawing in another community. One last question: does not accuse my publication damage my reputation?

No, it does not affect your reputation :). It is just hidden from the feed.
There is few communities where you can publish drawings.

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

Hello again, I do not know where to send you the links of my three publications in Black And White to integrate myself to your community. I put them here anyway. A hug.

https://hive.blog/hive-142159/@j-relatos/footprints-your-legacy-on-earth

https://hive.blog/hive-142159/@j-relatos/white-hands-courage-in-black-and-white

https://hive.blog/hive-142159/@j-relatos/traces-of-nature-in-black-and-white