A weed and a pest!

in Black And White2 years ago

Aloe aristata flower bw 8.jpg


The Aloe Aristata that repotted last year to a much larger pot is growing like a weed. I was hoping I will not have to move it for at least few years, but I guess I was wrong. No, not this year yet. But with the speed it spreads I will have to do something net year probably (or I will let her suffer).

Depside being a succulent and quite a resilient one, it does like to be watered properly from time to time as long as the soil does dry out between waterings.

Previously it was in a tight clay bowl with not a lot of room for roots and soil. I could see it closing during the summer to hold as much moisture as it could. In the current big pot it bushed out and is much greener. A nice and long needed change it was.


Aloe aristata flower bw 6.jpg

Aloe aristata flower bw 4.jpgAloe aristata flower bw 5.jpg



Those are flowers from the last blooming.

Aloe aristata flower bw 1.jpg


The leaves are very thin and narrow. Not like the Aloe that people grow to squeeze the gel from. This is a much smaller and more deliate form.

Even the ripple and tiny teeth are harmless. The dry tips are like dry hay. A pleasant plant overall :)


Aloe aristata flower bw 2.jpg


I got a small ofshoot few years ago from my cousin. She was also "complaining" that it just grows and grows and she keeps repotting it and soon after it needs more room again.
Weed and a pest :D


Aloe aristata flower bw 9.jpg

Aloe aristata flower bw 3.jpg


One of the stems started to lean down in such cool way I could not resist shooting it.
I could of course put some supporting sticks there and attach it to it, but what for? The only downside was that I had to be very careful not to kick it.


Aloe aristata flower bw 7.jpg


And then the time is up.


Aloe aristata flower bw 10.jpg


Monochrome song for today:
Archive - Again
year 2002

This was the first song I listened to from this band and saved on my playlist. It was suggested by some crazy YouTube algorithm and... well.. they got it right this time :) I have never heard of Archive before.

It is a long one, but it changes. Worth listening to the whole thing (unless you hate it from the start).

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

Sort:  

Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Once again I find myself vicariously gardening through you. Next life I'll be a plant person. This life I gotta keep the cat from eating the plant I got at a hardware store that I've managed to keep alive for six years through no fault of my own.

You know it always starts from one...
There is still hope for you :D

I can't even keep an air plant alive...🤷‍♀

And my Aloe Aristata has grown but hasn't bloomed yet

My one didn't bloom for a few years too. Maybe bigger pot, or some fertilizer will help?

Thanks!
Yesterday I transplanted her, as she has many children.

I read that Aloe begins to bloom, depending on the species, from 5 years to 10,
I don't know how old my Aloe is.

Other Aloe I do not fertilize and they bloom.
I don't use fertilizer at all.
Now I brought it from Russia, I want to try it and see the difference.

Yes, if they thrive they can grow so fast.
I had a few over the years. At the moment not this one.

I didn't expect for it to spread so much. I wont have what to put it in soon.

Maybe you find some places around your house/ building to put a few if you have no space for them… 😉

ahhh. What did you do to me @ewkaw... Your black and white posts make my eyes dazzle like I'm still sleeping in a dream and seeing everything glowing, so cool.

I have a lot to learn from you. So you should be responsible and teach me your black and white technique.

Hahah the monochrome dream :P
Oh I am so evil!

that's you @ewkaw don't think about my feelings. I'm sad 😭🤣

In our country it is called Aloe Vera. 😄

Aloe Vera is a different type. It is much bigger than this one. We have those too :)

I had no idea aloes have varieties like this, growing crazy. And petals? I didn't know they flower. Looks like I have no clue about these plants. However, I have one big aloe at home and she is going strong. Even if I take a leaf from time to time. For medicinal purposes.

My mum has one of those too and she keeps it for the same reason. I never saw it blooming, though I am sure it can. The flowers are probably very similar - thin and long.

I am afraid of these plants as they could be running around the garden at night!! They looked quite naughty to me! 😂

Haha they drink juices from other plants with their long mouth 😂

Oh! No! Creepy! I won’t go near these alien plants! 🙀😂

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

that's a really cool looking plant, it has such a unique way of growing that it looks like it has a magical power 😆 also the quality of these pictures are really great!

A good combo me thinks :)