Lisbon streets.... outra vez

in Black And White2 years ago (edited)

lisbon helios bw 2.jpg


It all starts from a ferry that docks almost in the heart of the touristic part of the city. The ride takes about 20 minutes and I can imagine it is a waste of time for people that have to go back and forth every day, but I damn enjoy it :)


lisbon helios bw 9.jpg


Then a short walk along the river shore and you end up in probably the most photographed spot in Lisbon. The big Praça do comércio which normally is full of tourists and people trying to sell you something or make you sign up for something.

One of the things I did enjoy about all the Covid restrictions - less people everywhere. I could actually enjoy the walk instead of trying to constantly pass groups of people.


lisbon helios bw 10.jpg


You pass the big arches and you enter the city...

lisbon helios bw 1.jpglisbon helios bw 6.jpg



After that it is just hours and hours of walking along the streets. You get the big avenues with trees that fit perfectly the big and busy city. But just around the corner dozens of little ones with old scruffy houses and older people hanging their clothes outside. Just a few steps and it seems like you are in another town.

Only turn again and be among the fancy cars and expensive shops again.

lisbon helios bw 4.jpg

lisbon helios bw 5.jpg

lisbon helios bw 11.jpg


That puddle in the middle is a pavement :p
I don't think any drainage was even installed there and the leveling didn't go the way it should either :)
Cool reflections though!

Far behind you get to see Ponte 25 de Abril and the Jesus statue in the corner.


lisbon helios bw 7.jpg


Proof of Walk:


lisbon helios bw 8.jpg


And back home...
Time to take the face covers off :D


lisbon helios bw 3.jpg


Monochrome song for today:
Da Weasel - Ressaca
year 1995

I think it is only appropriate to put something Portuguese.

1, 2, 3 é a ressaca outra vez
...

»«
Shot with Sony a7 + Helios 44-2 lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

Sort:  

Great black and white photos!

Thank you :)

👍

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello dear friend @ewkaw good afternoon
It is true what you say, if this pandemic was of any use, it is that you can comfortably walk through the streets

What beautiful shots you have here; I love period buildings, and all those details of architecture.

I appreciate that you let us know these beautiful images

Have a beautiful night

Probably the only good thing about it. Less crowd on the streets :P
Glad you like it
Have a nice day :)

A beautiful work, I have enjoyed all the photos, this time was difficult for me to choose one in particular because all are a portent of eloquence, but I give a special applause for that of the seagull with the ferry raiding the upper left corner of the image... I can almost hear the sounds of the environment in that image... And -of course- "Proof of Walk" made me laugh a lot! ha ha ha :)

Thank you!
That seagull shot was a lucky one. I was trying to catch the birds walking around and didn't even notice the ferry was there when I was shooting. It is a cool spot to sit and just watch both :)

Proof of Walk did it's job then :))

Sin duda una hermosa ciudad

It is nice indeed :)

What a beautiful tall arches and what a great way to enter the town. Very cool.

Love those big sidewalks and one thing I also don't mind about the covid is that there is no people traffic everywhere.

Those arches are absolutely awesome! Especially the view from the city towards the river... when you can see the water under the arch. Pretty cool :)

a very pleasant trip.. I see evidence of your path in this post, it looks like you walked very far, it looks like your soles are being eroded by road media such as asphalt or cement 😁

It was good :)

Yes, of course! walking can also be a substitute for exercise. the body is healthy and fit. our hearts are also healthier. Is not it??😊

Adidas 😍

Hahaha :D
Something for everyone :p

I love you photograpy

Thanks :)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @rmach.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I love ferry rides too, and damn I can imagine how much fun it would be walking the streets of Lisbon! 😍

Hopefully one day you will be able too :)

Nice post and pictures!! I liked it a lot! Even in black and white Lisbon offers kinda colorful energy! I hope to visit the city soon!

Thanks for sharing!!

Thanks! There is always a lot happening in that part.

I hope to visit the city soon!

Fingers crossed :)

One of the most interesting cities I've ever been. Would gladly go back. Loved Portugal in general.

Ohhh did you spend long time here? I should probably walk around with a camera more often. There is so much to shoot there!

Ohhhh cool! I really like all those old narrow streets. And the view from the Castle is amazing.

Fun think I found about the elevator - there is always a queue for it so I have never been in it. But there are stairs up on one of the streets nearby and you can just go around and be on the top anyway :D
The view form there is awesome.

P1830092.JPG

If I reside to another place in Europe Portugal is really high on my list.

What a picturesque place, Love the details you’ve captured in monochrome 😍

Thank you! :)

Great photos! Never been there but it is on the bucket list for sure!

Thanks! You should visit if you can :) And make sure you have extra memory card for all the shots ready.

I like to see people playing musical instruments on the sidelines of the city. :)

Some of them are really good! :D

Oh, I looove Lisboa and through the years I keep coming back from time to time.
A great capture of the feeling, beautiful photos... outra vez :)

Thank you! I will have to train more street photography there. Something I don't really do much.

I love how you captured the city so beautifully. I especially love the musician and the shoe. Very clever captures. Welcome home.

Thank you! That guy came out of nowhere and just started to play. The sound among all the buildings was amazing!

Hello! I have never commented to you because I don't know English. But what I can tell you is that I loved the photographs. At the same time, the text says the expressions and your point of view, but I prefer to see it my way 😍 greetings

Hola :)
Glad you like them and thanks a lot for the comment.
We all see and feel the photographs differently. And that is awesome.
Have a great weekend!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Beautiful walk @ewkaw.
I can so relate when you say, you enjoy the less people around during the restrictions.

Thank you!
The crowd in the summer in unbelievable!

You are welcome @ewkaw
Yep, here normally too… especially in the bigger cities.