Twinkle twinkle little star

in Black And White3 years ago

Astraeus star mushrooms bw 2.jpg

A little star shaped mushrooms I accidently found in a place where I would least expect to find one.
Close to the ocean on extended dunes where pines and some low shrubs grow. The soil is very sandy and very dry in the summer.

But in winter, when it is cooler and humid with regular rains, those little guys pop. Astraeus (I think that's what they are called) are not very big, just a few cm across. But the shape is just amazing! the middle is round like a little pillow. Filled with spores that get released when it breaks.

Astraeus star mushrooms bw 1.jpg

Is this one mocking smiling at me? :)

Astraeus star mushrooms bw 3.jpg

Astraeus star mushrooms bw 4.jpg

The outside part looks like wood. I am not sure if all mushrooms of this type have this cool ability, or just some. But the those parts close when it is very dry and open when it gets wet.

There was about 8-10 of them around looking like stars sitting between the green leaves. Very cool!

Astraeus star mushrooms bw 5.jpg


My contribution to #FungiFriday by @ewkaw

I hope many of you will join as there are only 2 simple rules:

  • when Friday comes post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, I will check and report stolen images!)
  • add #FungiFriday tag (it doesn't have to be your first tag)
    That's all :)

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

Sort:  

Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

These look like photos from Mars!!lol

I travel a lot :p

feeling envy!

You shouldn't. You have much better climate for fungi and longer season.

Fungi and vodka (and wine)!
Definitely :D

Cycling in 35+ and burning hot sun is not nice at all.

Yup! That's the one :)
Thanks!