This is my entry for the #monomad challenge - Weekend Photo Hunt

in Black And White10 months ago

Good day everyone. Another week passed by in the month of August. These past 2 months had been a downtime in my business. There I thought my downtime season is usually in April but now had extended in these past 2 months. But this gives me the time to slowdown a bit and think about my direction in my career. Now that I have found a new genre to add in my profession as photographer & videographer, venturing into wildlife photography & videography. I'm very fascinated by the photos and videos taken by those in this genre. Its not easy to get into this wildlife genre as the main equipment that must have is the super telephoto lens and that is the one I didn't have right now. The only telephoto that I have is my old tamron 70-300 f4-5.6 canon mount and using this lens on my sony body camera is not ideal. I just cannot use the full capability of the camera body auto focus technology as it keep freezing my camera when I used the continuous auto focus.
I have no idea when I get started to take interest in this genre but having a friends that also into this only boosting that interest to another level up to the point that I'm planning on getting one super telephoto lens just for this purposes. So, last weekend I have joined a group of friends to hunt a photo around Kundasang, Ranau and I take this chance to borrow @bluekinabalu super telephoto lens for hunting birds around the Kinabalu National Park, Kundasang. The lens that she had is the sony 200-600mm f5.6-6.3 G OSS, having a super reach and better quality than my tamron 70-300mm. The only downside of having this lens is the weight quite heavy around 2245g. But before I tested this lens, I mostly used my tamron lens to take picture during our hunt just to test how this lens perform with this sony body camera with limited auto focus function. I find that I actually do get a decent photo out of this lens just enough for a social media posting but i'm not sure about the quality of printed photo's. The characteristic of this tamron lens is that the photo taken is not tack sharp on the edges. It produce a soft photos and it needed a good contrast condition to make the photo look sharp. So, here's the photo of us during that photo hunt.

The timing of our walk there is quite interesting because we do found a few birds that I have never really take notice before. The surrounding is fogging ,cold and a bit of raining in the afternoon. We don't even realize that we managed walk around 5km along the car road and if it didn't rain, we might walk even further ahead. Its actually quite a lot of interesting subject to photograph along the road, the birds, the wild flower on the side of the road and sometimes an interesting macro subject. There's another trail that went through the botanical forest but we didn't go through there that time because of the rain.
Usually my line of work is to photograph and shoot video of person or events. So going for a photo walk like this is really fun and without any stress. I should go out frequently like this more in the future and thank you @tommyl33 @bluekinabalu and @ikankaruk88 for inviting me to this photo hunt. Lastly, thank you @bluekinabalu & @tommyl33 for taking this photo of me. I rarely have a photo myself taken because usually it was me behind the camera working 😂

So, until next post. Have a great day and week everyone.

EquipmentSony A7IV / Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6 / Viltrox EF-E adapter
SoftwareCapture One Pro 2023
Sort:  

Wow. Nice photography.

Thnk you 😊🙏🙏

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you 😁🙏🙏

Uwaaaaa... good job & keep it up.

Thank you 😁🙏🙏🙏

 10 months ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad second place is yours.
Thank You very much for participating and for being part of the Black And White Community!

Thank you for the support 😁🙏🙏🙏