Chiang Mai's Walking Street by Night

in Black And White7 months ago

Some monochrome photographs taken after dark along Chiang Mai's weekly Walking Street market in northern Thailand. They were all taken a few years ago before the pandemic.


You can't hear the fresh bubbling fizz from this can of beer but I think the street-light is doing a good job of replacing the feeling.


A street-jeweller in his tiny booth.


I love this lucky composition of only getting hints of their faces. It gives me a feeling of the loneliness of crowds.


You can't quite see it but you know the seller is smiling and teller her how good it looks.


To me, the low angle almost gives this boy the look of a Godfather in the making.


Shoot enough photos and you will always get a few lucky ones like the symbolic gagging of this woman.


This street market gets very crowded and when I've had enough of photography (or my battery has run out) I play a game of walking through the crowds as quickly as I can without touching anybody - keeps me entertained.


The stalls are a bit rudimentary but still quite an effort to set up for just a few hours.


I didn't realise quite what this man was doing until I got home and looked more carefully at this photo - he was protesting the arrival of Google Streetview in Thailand which he felt was going to be used by the police to keep a watch on all of us.


Just a little moment between a couple unaware of my camera.


Young guys enjoying themselves...but shhhhh not too loudly.


A "press the shutter and hope" photograph shot from the hip.


My guess is that this man is a local teacher as he was getting a lot of respectful greetings from the younger generation passing by. Seeing this gave me a warm feeling like the system was working somehow.


A ring of distracted faces that distracted me enough that I didn't notice what they were looking at.


Perhaps he was actually reading the paper but this photo suggests it might just be cover for a spying operation.


I love the third hand on his shoulder...


This was pre-pandemic but Chiang Mai people were already used to covering their faces in the dry season due to the sometimes terrible air quality.


Another shot from the hip where I just managed to get both of their faces. And perhaps a generation gap.


I hang but my friend feels the noose!

Sort:  
 7 months ago  

Hello @hadrianwild
Don't forget to add the #monomad tag to your post. 🙂

Okay, thanks.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hadrianwild.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


Reviewed and Approved for an Ecency boost. Keep up the good work.

Wave Media

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!