Abandonned Backroads of West Carleton (Monomad entry)

in Black And White2 years ago (edited)

This morning I took a drive through a particular rural extremity of Ottawa formerly known as West Carleton Township, and took pictures of a few things that caught my eye. On this particular occasion, I indulged my longstanding fascination with abandonned buildings.

abandonned1_full_bw.jpg

abandonned1_bw.jpg

abandonned2_bw.jpg

While I have an appreciation for any sort of vintage architecture, I've always been especially drawn to structures that have long been left behind, as it seems they would each have a story to tell if only they could speak. Buildings in active use have their own stories, too, but those are works-in-progress, whereas with abandonned buildings, the book has long since been closed. I always find myself trying to imagine what lead to the structure's eventual state of neglect and disrepair.

abandonned3_bw.jpg

abandonned4_bw.jpg

Did the former inhabitants simply move on to the proverbial greener pastures, or did they face loss or financial ruin? Were they run out of town for some transgression, or did they sneak away for good in the middle of the night?

While I'm intensely curious about the above, I prefer not having any idea at all, and allowing my imagination to have lot's of space to roam.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @jamesdeagle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar