Monomad, Copacabana Street, RJ, Brazil

in Black And White3 years ago

This photographic work was done in the first outings with the analog camera. After rescuing it from a drawer, I took the Olympus Om-1 for maintenance. We were able to clean some fungus from the lens, but not all. One of the first ideas would be to walk around Copacabana at around 10 am in search of an unusual scene of everyday life in Rio. These are some images of the two rollers I used. I remember being in winter, between June and July 2016, that I started to venture into 35mm photography.

I remember that the most motivating thing for me was to photograph without seeing the immediate result. Unlike digital, this detail of only knowing the result days or weeks later, inspired me every time I put my eyes on the camera to frame.

I remember that at the end of the walk, when the film was missing two photos, the camera accidentally opened. I think the backpack strap caught the rewinder and opened it accidentally exposing the film. I don't know how long it lasted, as I immediately closed it. The result of the last pictures came a few stops above, but I didn't miss the beginning of the film.

I hope you enjoy the visit to Copacabana.

I photographed with my Olympus Om1
with Kodak films and a 50mm F1.4 lens.

ted 2 pb(1).jpg

sono1) copy.jpg

sono2pb.jpg

escadapavao.jpg

Untitled19.jpg