Monomad, Gilbratar fellings

in Black And White3 years ago

These photos were taken on the ferry boat leaving Tarifa, Spain going to Ceuta on the African continent, but European territory. I remember feeling butterflies in my stomach for the first time crossing the strict Gibraltar and for the first time going to Africa. My destination is Morocco. I was already traveling for 1 month in Portugal and now I was on my way to Morocco. I remember feeling happy and alone. I relaxed in my seat and felt homesick. I felt a little afraid of going alone to a country that couldn't even speak the language. the only thing that gave me security was my camera, because at any moment a scene could appear in front of me. this trip I took in 2017 to Portugal, Spain and Morocco was a great school for my style of photography. He traveled inspired by the photography and writings of the Chilean photographer Sergio Larrain, who has his work prestigious around the world. Sergio called himself a vagabond, a flaner, who traveled around without knowing where to wander around the world. one of the things he said that makes a lot of sense to me is: shoot only when you really feel like it. In this sense, traveling with 10 rolls of film, a camera and a single 50 mm F1.8 lens, meant being very present and surrendered to capture some of the furtive movements of life.

000049.JPG

000047.JPG

000048.JPG

000046.JPG