Monomad - The Labyrinths of the Largest Medina in the World

in Black And White3 years ago

Walking in Fez, the largest medieval city in the world, is like getting lost in the labyrinths of an ancient city. It crosses with donkeys, carts, fairs, streets, alleys, mosques and squares. It is pure chaos.

0602_042.jpg
Available on hicetnunc "Wall"-14/15
0602_039.jpg

0602_037.jpg
Available on hicetnunc"Umbrela Maroc" - 1/1

Even with the map, the only certainty there is that you will get lost and to find yourself, you will need to spend a few days with some Moroccan who will help you. At the beginning of the day, i walked the streets in order to get lost and unintentionally arrived at the famous place where they dye leather. A rudimentary process, where it exploits workers and animals. Donkeys carry heavy loads of leather, while men who work in these places spend the day exposed to chemicals and the unimaginable terrible odor that the place has. When I arrived at the tanks, I don't know how, but I went along the path that workers take to access the tanks, while tourists are annoyed by the guides to pay some money to go up to the surrounding houses and see the tanks from above. However, when I came across the remains of carcasses and hides, I realized that I was among the tanks with the workers. I took another photo from below and followed the alleys. It was a long day of many smells and sensations in one of the most chaotic places I have ever been. Shortly after I left the tanks and said goodbye to the workers, a carpet salesman persuaded me to enter his store. common custom in morocco, he offered me tea. He started showing me his work trying to convince me to buy. we speak in spanish and used the best arguments for me to take. Finally, I did not take any rug, as I would have nowhere to carry it in my backpack. I traveled with little, because I was already on the road for 1 and a half months.

0602_031.jpg
The workers on dyeing leather
0602_033.jpg
Rudimentary instrument for drying leather
0602_030.jpg

0602_028.jpg

0602_035.jpg

0602_024.jpg
0602_040.jpg

The experience of walking lost with a camera on your chest is always a great time to deepen yourself and keep ephemeral movements that luck brings you in the blink of an eye.
I spent two films during the day in Fez. An Ilford FP4 and HP5

Sort:  

Nice pictures my friend. I have an intrigue to know, what is lying on the ground in photo #7?

tanhk you! this is animal carcass to hide the skin. this photo is on the side of the dyeing tanks.

Foda. Curti demais o retrato dos caras do tanque :)

 3 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad third place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Also, and in case you didn't yet, feel free to join our Black And White Community.

I'm impressed with your photographs. Wonderful story behind. 🤍

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment