Snow Versus Wind

in Black And White2 years ago (edited)

20220410_170237.jpg

Greetings to all you wonderful people enjoying some nice spring weather. I bring to you some photos from the north, where temperatures are still in the negatives and the blizzards are happening on a daily basis. While the snow may not be here always, the wind on our little island is an ever-present force that can do some quite beautiful and unique things to the accumulated snow. I often find myself staring at the random patterns that form, trying to find a reason why one section of snow will have rippling waves, and yet only 6 feet away you find the rough jagged edges that make the ground look like a LIDAR map of islands. Sometimes you even find cut out overhangs that look like a wave frozen in time. I find myself also thinking about how the shapes that the snow forms after being carved out can look eerily similar to thousands of years of wind erosion in places around the world. It's like I'm watching geological erosion on a human-appreciable scale!

20220410_170231.jpg

To show you a bit of the scale in these photos I made sure to back up and get a few shots from further back. It allows you to see the different folds and curves that the snow carves out. To the right, you can see that the prior snowfall was carved out in a left to right motion, but the top and bottom layers were carved diagonally. I forget my frame of reference for the direction I was facing during the taking of these photos, but I have noticed from my few years up here, that wind blowing North to South are extremely bitter and strips the ground bear, while winds rising up from the south (that generally blow in a westward direction) carry the storms and the snowfall. So my guess is that the mid-layer was deposited by a storm and the diagonal patterns are from the stripping Northern wind.

20220410_170213.jpg

I have a few more shots to add, because I thought they were pretty. You can see how we transport our smallest dog in the back kennel on the Ski-Doo. The kennel is mostly used for in-town trips to our friends house and I was using it to store ropes to pull the qamutik sled I was dragging behind the machine. If we were making a snowmobile trip out to the Cabins, some 10 km from town I would just let her run beside the machine. Our larger Chocolate Lab, Millie, will also run beside us, and for in-town driving she sits ON the machine, either in front of me if I'm solo, or between my wife and I if we're out together. It makes even the shortest trips into a fun adventure for her.

20220410_165938.jpg

20220410_165920.jpg

[Edited the thumbnail, I hope.]

Find my artwork for sale exclusively on NFTShowroom.com
Find my photographs of Nunavut scenery and Wildlife on Lensy.io
Follow me on twitter here: Hive Related Account / Photography and Art Account
I am also on Instagram: But only Photography and Art

FxX5caie56ynwsjysm2XuNozdMysq1YNDRbt9X9VeerNm1981Q9QbBMDAvYrEjJ67Z3EpbrLRdsnBevZ2F6H5WcoSPwRUixeZ8mPnXPDCwCS.png