Portraits of a Depressed City (ENG-ESP)-Monomad challenge

in Black And White4 months ago (edited)

IMG_9353-3.jpg

ENGLISH

Perhaps it's my perception, and I hope it is. When I take street photos, it seems like I see a lot of despondent people. Maybe "despondent" isn't the right word, as I'm neither a psychologist nor pretend to be one. However, the faces of those walking seem to convey to me that they are tired, discouraged, disheveled, or even defeated.

I took these photos in Merida, a city in the Venezuelan Andes with the highest suicide rate in the country.

It's no secret that the economic, political, and social crisis can be triggers, as well as the weather, as they say. Merida is a cold city, although sometimes not as cold in reality, and it is nestled between enormous mountains.

IMG_9245.jpg

IMG_9269.jpg

Merida used to be a tourist destination, and in fact, it is still known for being so, although it has diminished for obvious reasons.

IMG_9216.jpg

I see this city as sad and hopeless, yet at the same time, it seems to be in motion, as if the survival instinct has automated its progression.

I hope I am mistaken.

ESPAÑOL

Puede que sea mi percepción, de hecho espero que así sea: cuando hago foto callejera, me parece ver a mucha gente deprimida. Tal vez no sea la palabra adecuada, porque psicólogo no soy, ni pretendo serlo. Sin embargo, los rostros andantes parecen decirme estar cansados, desanimados, sucios, o incluso, hartos.

Estas fotos las hice en una ciudad de los andes venezolanos, llamda Mérida. Un lugar donde hay la tasa más alta de suicidios del país.

Para nadie es un secreto que la crisis económica, política y social, pueden ser detonantes, pero también influye el clima, como se suele decir. Mérida es una ciudad fría, aunque a veces no tanto en realidad, y está ubicada entre enormes montañas.

IMG_9225.jpg

IMG_9371.jpg

Mérida también solía ser turística, o de hecho, aún es conocida por serlo, pese a que ha mermado por evidentes razones.

Veo esta ciudad triste, y desesperanzada, pero al mismo tiempo movida, como si el instinto de supervivencia la automatizara a seguir.

Realmente espero equivocarme.