Honouring An Athlete Of The Past: Mi’kmag Runner Michael Thomas

in Black And White3 years ago

1AB790A3222F48A68B7D306016DFC18D.jpeg



This post is my entry for the #monomad challenge created by @brumest and hosted by @monochromes.


D2906FB181DE4A7C95EE413B9E6DC994.jpeg



It was a windy day when Hubby and I stopped at the waterfront park in Stratford, P.E.I. Because the gusts of wind were strong, I didn’t get many photos but managed this one of the bronze statue of an outstanding athlete from the last century, Mi’kmag runner, Michael Thomas.

The statue commemorates, in 1911, Michael Thomas was the first Prince Edward Islander to run in the Boston Marathon.

Although he didn’t win the 26 mile race, his time was better than the winners of the two previous years. The amazing thing was he ran the 26 mile course without water because the cyclist carrying his refreshments was involved in an accident.


6C59B050C62F4BE2A63E4F7E42EAAB71.jpeg



Michael Thomas (1885-1954) had competed and won in the 10 mile Charlottetown Patriot Races, 1909, 1910 and 1911. He was born at Lennox Island’s First Nations, P.E.I. and eventually quit running because of arthritis.

Source-Michael Thomas Statue


Even with the fierce wind that day I looked across the Hillsborough River from the statue at waterfront park to photography the three steeples in Charlottetown. I always like seeing the three steeples from the Hillsborough bridge when driving into Charlottetown.


FD8DABEDA21A4B5BA82A9CB43B5A92B9.jpeg



Michael Thomas’s bronze statue in color. It was sculptured by Thomas J. Warren of New Jersey.


8B0C2600BB25467E86A8A69DBAD3830A.jpeg


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

🏃🏃🏃

🎄I wish everyone a safe and happy festive season!🎄



C3D38B1FA17144FABA01572994FF3DA0.gif

Courtesy of @zord189


Courtesy of @derangedvisions


aisrfr.png
Banner created by @barbara-orenya



0A839F22ECF2438586621CCBC4EDB5C1.jpeg

Sort:  

Ho Ho Ho! @redheadpei, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked me to give you a new badge!

HiveBuzz wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Offer a gift to your friends for Christmas
HiveFest⁵ feedback and contest results

Thanks @hivebuzz.

🎄A Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!🎅

You're welcome @redheadpei 😊😊😊
Merry X'mas to you and a happy New Year!

I do not want to lie, I have never heard of Michael Thomas, but to be honest, I don't know any other runner either 😉

The story is very interesting though, especially that he didn't win the Boston Marathon although he was faster than the two previous winners 😀

Good luck in the challenge Jo ☺️👍


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Hi Hannes,

I think running an interesting sport with the runner in complete control of wherever his strides take him/her. It was something I loved to do as a child and into the teen years. There were race contests at church picnics I always took part in. Doubt if I could outrun a turtle now 🐌( snail will have to do for emoji.🤣

Michael Thomas’s statue brought his story out to the public here. About the only sprinter/runner I heard much about was the Jamaican Usain Bolt (nicknamed Lightning Bolt) who won several gold medals.

Thanks so much dear Hannes for reblog, generous tip and goodies.🤗

We have some 10 C weather coming in the next two days. I doubt if there will be snow on Christmas.

Have a great Wednesday!
.

Hi Jo,

I loved to run when I was young, but I have never run a race, I ran just for fun, also in the mountains. But when I was about 30 I slowly stopped and today you and the snail might be able to overtake me 😁

Oh yes, Usain Bolt is a name I also know :)

Our weather is also too warm for winter and it's gray in gray - no snow in sight, But I'll see some of that white stuff today, because I will give my dad a lift back home from hospital where he has an appointment today :)))

You have a great day too, dear Jo 🤗🌞


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks Pix!

🎄Blessings and best wishes of the season!🎄