Historic Snowstorm in Historic Fredericksburg, Virginia

in Black And White2 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge

I decided to escape Buffalo and drive south for the month. I booked two nights at an Air BNB in Frederickburg, Virginia for the first stop on my trip. The forecast was in the high 40s (F) for Wednesday when I would drive down here. Awesome! Then I started seeing news stories about hours long traffic jams Monday night due to a massive surprise snowstorm. When I got into town last night, trees were down in the road. There were abandoned cars. Entire business districts were shut down with no electricity. All the traffic lights were out. Luckily the apartment building where I was staying still had power. I was unable to take photos because I was driving. I decided to go for walk this morning and take photos of the city. Enjoy!

DSC04747.JPG

DSC04748.JPG

DSC04750 (2).JPG

DSC04752 (2).JPG

DSC04759.JPG

DSC04761 (2).JPG

DSC04770 (2).jpg

DSC04763 (2).JPG

DSC04777 (2).JPG

DSC04780 (2).JPG

DSC04784 (2).JPG

DSC04792.JPG

Sort:  

Stunning.. black and white snow photos are just lovely. We don't get a lot of snow here so it fascinates me.

Thanks. I was excited to get to take snow photos. We hadn't even had snowfall like this in Buffalo so far this winter.