You shall not pass…without taking some snaps - Monomad Challenge

in Black And White2 years ago

Hail to the Hive!

I’ve mentioned it before that #monomad is my jam. It was the competition that drew me into the blockchain back in the steem days and was largely responsible for keeping me here in my embryonic blogging days. So glad it did as now it’s made me keep an eye out at all times for material.
308C79D9-9079-4604-9C18-F170D24D9EAC.jpeg

Like today, for instance, I was walking my route from the boat to the supermarket and had to pass over this footbridge crossing the railroad tracks. A mundane thing usually but because of #hive and #monomad and so many other influences the angles and light just caught my attention.
F5158322-D078-453B-A3BF-0AB4A6086533.jpeg

I’ll admit I did get a few funny looks from people passing the other way as they saw me taking shots of what to them must look like an ugly footbridge. But I saw in the angles and shades of light and contrast something worth capturing. Something worth snapping and playing with.

752FE16C-8E42-407D-A619-2CA7C39FA806.jpeg

So I could not pass without investigating all the angles and having a bitnof photographic fun.
99CBC65E-CB74-4775-8FD9-498B0CB0678D.jpeg

It also brokenup the walk to the shops and gave me a secondary purpose for my outing making it all the more productive.
6769E9C0-F98B-417E-A212-D8F70EAB12FD.jpeg

Isnit just me or has Hive affected any of you all in the same way. Always on the lookout. Given you more reason to be creative and to explore a medium you love. I know it has for me and I’m grateful for the expressive outlet.
D8F0A230-16B9-42B6-89C3-08BF038B25C8.jpeg

I was quite happy ‘I could not pass’ without taking these and as soon as I returned to the boat with my shopping Inwas busy downloading the pics and had them into the editing software before I’d cracked open my first beer.
B0BD90F5-F418-4E57-8307-E9402A681F96.jpeg

So I may have appeared like a mad man to the locals but I don’t really care because….

ACAF733E-1AFB-4950-B7EB-08938569A3C5.jpeg

I do Love a bit of #monomad 😜

SHGIF.gif

NEON.gif

Sort:  

Hi @scubahead,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Today I took a photo of a weird sign, it was to many just a DANGER sign, if anyone passed me at that point, they may have thought, "weirdo". I used to run a website for photographers and we had a great community there. One of our best members was a guy called Eric Hands purely because he turned the "mundane" into pure gold. He still does it today, he has a style and an eye that has always inspired me.

Now I think you're developing a similar thing with your main fascinations in the manmade landscape. Keep on doing it. Don't just go to the shops, turn the routine chore into an opportunity for creativity!

Friend @scubahead ... Nice pictures as always, now I understand much better how come you do such fantastics works in monochrome!... Is the #monomad-diction! ;).... And what you have written has enchanted me!.... In fact... It has made me feel very calm, because at least I'm not the only one who spends most of the time looking at everything in "Black and White" to bring it to #monomad!... You make me feel accompanied when you write this!... I go out to buy things in my small town and suddenly I'm photographing an old rusty vehicle in a street!... Or my wife asks me to bring something to her mother and I end up taking pictures of the benches in the square, reflected in water!... ha ha ha ha.... :) ... And the children (and some adults discreetly) look at me and say: "There's the crazy man with the camera!"... ha ha ha ha :).... It's a delightful and energising passion!.... I send you a round of applause and many blessings!.... Happy Sunday!!!....

Haha we are not alone. Yup thats me too. A rusty bike next to the canal , an old derelict building. Sometimes i just notice the sky and its contrast to its surroundings and i get excited thinking het this would be amazing in black and white. Adds a new dimension to the everyday stuff

Man, I love that last one with the railroad tracks. For me it was @photocircle and the contests they used to have (what happened to those anyway?) that got me looking at things more/differently. Me and monomad got started at just about the same time but it took a while for me to really get into b&w. Once I did I got to liking it and it's what got me thinking of shots with b&w in mind.

Yup, back in the old steem days no communities it was very different and I stumbled across the Monomad competition and found my first real ‘home’ on the blockchain. I remember @photocircle too