Breaking Bowls - #LaAventuraDeLaVida

in The Kingdom2 years ago

Welcome to my time capsule. 😊 We are traveling back several years to meet a girl much like me, but far younger and more naive. I will be telling you her story through her eyes over the coming weeks and months. I hope you enjoy it and see the many ways her Savior has guided her every step of the way! All of my posts marked with #LaAventuraDeLaVida are a part of this ongoing series.

image.png

~ Jan 12, 2014 ~

Yesterday, my roommate and I were doing dishes, and she dropped a Corelle bowl onto the tile floor. It immediately shattered, leaving painful shards all over the floor. As we were cleaning, I remarked that I’m always super careful with breakables because I know how clumsy I am. She replied that she always tends to forget that she is clumsy.

That exchange, combined with another conversation I’d had, made me think. So often, this very thing happens with our relational “bowls” – fragile things made of words, feelings, time, and trust. In our outer lives, with people we don’t know very well, we are very careful not to drop the bowl. But when we get comfortable, when we are around people who we know love us, we have a bad habit of forgetting just how clumsy we are. We forget how destructive we can be, how damaging our careless words are, and how easy it is to let those bowls slip from our hands.

Image by andrew morris from Pixabay

The saddest part is that these are our heirloom bowls. Our fine china. Our wedding crystal.
Our dearest and closest friendships are the ones with which we forget we are clumsy.
Our family is often who hits the hard tile floor.

We must not forget that we are clumsy. We (and I mean we – I am always sitting in the front row when I start preaching) must not forget that we have a sin nature that likes to sneak out and cause trouble. The command to love has no exceptions. The exhortation to give sacrificially has no fine print. Especially for those you know will still love you anyway.

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.”
~ 1 Thessalonians 5:11

~ steps down from soapbox ~ 😉

Five most recent posts in this series (most recent listed first):

Lessons Learned - #LaAventuraDeLaVida
Estamos Cambiando - #LaAventuraDeLaVida
En Orden - #LaAventuraDeLaVida
Más Fuerte - #LaAventuraDeLaVida
Rápido y furioso - #LaAventuraDeLaVida