You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do I Follow The KJV-Only Crowd?

I understand your dilemma. I have been comfortable with the ESV until lately. Over the past 6 months to a year, I have been going more to the Greek and Hebrew to get a better understanding of the actually words used in the text. I began noticing that some of the texts I was researching didn't line up as closely to the original as I would have liked. Therfore, within the past month or so, I started looking at other translations. My wife mentioned that she has recently stumbled upon the LSB (Legacy Standard Bible) inside her BLB (Blue Letter Bible) app. It is fairly new so I figured I'd check it out. The more I cross-reference it to the original texts, I felt this was as close as I have seen, so I switched. I also like that it uses the name Yahweh in the OT when יהוה is used (that's just another pet peeve of mine - if that is the proper name used for God, why should I not refer to Him by that name?...but I digress). Back to your original search for the "perfect bible", I think unless you are fluent in Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek (language AND culture), there probably isn't one.