How I Became A Scholar in Just One Week

in Axie Buzz3 years ago

HOW.png

That's right. I got a scholarship after a week of looking for one. Some might ask me,

"How?"
"What did you do?"
"Others looked for weeks/months, how come you got it that fast?"
"What's your secret?"

and so on... Believe me, I also didn't expect it myself. I thought that I'd also be waiting for weeks, months even, just to get a scholarship. But luckily and fortunately, someone noticed me and reached out. How did I do it? What did I do to stand out?

I'll tell you why. But first, let me tell you a short story of how I got to know about Axie Infinity.

July 6th, I saw my friend's Facebook story showing his Axie Team. I found the Axies so cute and as a gamer, I asked him what the game was to also play it my self. He told me all there was to know about Axie Infinity. He told me that you have to invest money before you can play and that he was just a scholar since he didn't have funds to buy a team as it was so expensive. He then encouraged me to look for scholarship opportunities so I could play and earn at the same time.

And I did. I looked for scholarship giveaways on Facebook but the competition was so high so I moved to Twitter since I like it more than FB. I started following Axie content creators and managers, then searched for scholarship opportunities and retweeted them.

July 7th, I replied to countless tweets, entered many scholarship giveaways, answered lots of google forms, joined numerous discord servers, and just tried to be active on twitter.

However, days after, I received no message or email and never won a giveaway.

That was when I decided to step up my game. I made a creative resume and edited short video clips for a streamer. If there were managers looking for scholars, I only replied my creative resume hoping to get noticed, not my usual copy and paste text application. If their tweets were just random, I tried to interact, not asking them to hire me or choose me or whatnot. I tagged them on my edits and they fortunately noticed it and gave their pleased responses.

Even when I did that, even when I genuinely engaged to the community and become an irritating person by spamming copy and paste applications, I still didn't become a scholar.

So I thought, ah, it's just been a week since I started applying, maybe if I continue what I'm doing, I'll get one for sure in the coming days or weeks.

But still, I couldn't hide my frustration and hopelessness so I tweeted these at 1:20am:

a.png

ab.png

I then went to bed and decided to sleep early so I could edit videos again in the morning. Just when I was about to close my eyes, I received a direct message from someone:

aaa.png

When I read the message, my eyes widened and my heart started beating fast. Saying that I was surprised was an understatement. I couldn't believe it at first so I asked the sender if I was dreaming. He said that I wasn't and told me to give him my discord to talk about my scholarship. He also told me that he reached out because of my designing and editing skills.

I remembered him following we the day before. I saw him having a lot followers and followed back, but I just didn't mind. And when he saw my tweets of frustration and noticed that I was still looking for a scholarship, he reached out.

When I became hopeless and thought that I wasn't doing enough, someone came and told me that he needed me.

When I thought that no one believed in me and my skills, someone was silently looking and believed in me.

Now, I'm not just a scholar, I'm also the Breedmania's graphic designer. By the way, I got my first Axie earning yesterday! It's been two weeks now since I started working for Breedmania. And up until now, I'm still shocked that I'm already part of the community. I'll forever be grateful for Breedmania and my bosses. I'm doing what I love which is gaming and designing because of them.

So again, to those people who want to be a scholar, here are my tips:

  1. Don't just copy and paste your application.
  2. Make a creative and axie-themed resume.
  3. If you have skills or talents like editing, drawing, singing, dancing, and etc, use it! Managers love it when we make an effort in our applications!
  4. Engage and interact to managers and even aspiring scholars in the community.
  5. Don't lose hope, someone out there will choose you!
  6. Trust the process, you'll definitely make it soon!
  7. Believe in yourself, because no one else will do it first other than you.

I pray and wish that you'll get your scholarship soon, aspiring scholars! To the moon! 😍

BTW, here are some of my works:

Aqua themed (5).png

Beast Themed (3).png

Bird themed.png

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Axie Buzz @axieloise!

That's one very good first post you've put out here, congratz.

I honestly think that I got lucky that time! It was so unexpected that it still feels surreal right now. I didn't get to enter the streamer's and other manager's scholarship program that I've applied for, yes, but Breedmania came and offered me a scholarship and a designing job! It was like a blessing in disguise.

Congratulations @axieloise! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hello, @axieloise
This is @fionasfavourites from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive - congratulations and welcome! It would also be awesome if you could do an introduction post, so our community can get to know you better. For an example of what an intro post is like, you can check out this one by my friend & curation team member - Keeping Up With the Buzz – My Introduction to the Hive Community.

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out – Hive Communities.

Also since you're new, you may run into an RC (Resource Credits) error when trying to comment/post because you don't yet have enough Hive in your account yet. For assistance with a temporary delegation to get you started, be sure to check out the Gift Giver site.

Also, as this the hive can be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide is a growing repository of useful – easy to understand – posts about how the Hive ecosystem works.

For now, @lovesniper will follow your account and we are looking forward to seeing your intro post. Also, you are welcome to tag me (@fionasfavourites) and please mention @lovesniper in your intro post in order for us to be notified, so we can consider your post for OCD curation. Feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server if you have any questions!

Hello! Thank you so much! I will do the introduction post later! :)

Welcome to the Axie Buzz Family! I enjoyed reading your article! Remind me of my frustrations when applying as a scholar too. Hope to see more of your contents! XD