Lost My Main Ronin Seed Phrase (Importance of seed phrase)

in Axie Buzz2 years ago (edited)

Hello Lunacians! Hopefully, everyone doing well. Yesterday, my younger brother reinstall my laptop window without my permission. I'm an Axie manager. I have 15 scholars. When I tried to import my ronin account then I realized that I have saved only 4 confirmation seed phrase words, not 12. After spending a lot of time watching videos, reading articles, blah blah blah. I realized that there is no way to recover the seed phrase. I lost everything that I have earned in the last 5 months. 15 Scholars accounts, more than 16k SLP also my own main account.
nik-shuliahin-BuNWp1bL0nc-unsplash.jpg
A small mistake put me on the road. But I'm not giving up. I will do my hard work again. Someone said, "Losing is essential to anyone's success, The more you lose, the more you want to win". I'm learning from my mistakes. There are some points that everyone should consider👇

  • Never take a screenshot
    This point is often ignored by a lot of people like me, but it is crucial to remember, it is very convenient to just take a screenshot of the seed phrase when presented but highly unsafe. For one, you may lose your device and all the images along with it in which case you do not have access to the seed phrase.
    Capture copy.png

  • Not type it on your computer
    Another convenient way is to store your seed phrase is in a word document on your laptop, but it is important to note that your laptop is connected to the internet and prone to malware attacks. Another major risk is it might get deleted from the device in which case you will never be able to access your keys again.
    Screenshot (501).png

  • keep multiple copies in safe spaces
    The best way to store your seed phrase is to store it offline. When you store it on paper it is important to keep multiple copies in different places just in case one of them gets destroyed.
    kelly-sikkema--1_RZL8BGBM-unsplash.jpg

  • Never store it online without encryption
    If you are to store your seed phrase on a device or on the cloud – Encrypt and store it. The best way is to use encryption software to encrypt the file storing the seed phrase and also have a backup of it on the cloud.
    markus-spiske-FXFz-sW0uwo-unsplash.jpg

  • Try to remember the seed phrases
    One of the best ways to safeguard your assets is to store them in the most sophisticated device in the world – your Brain!
    It is not very hard to memorize the 12 or 24-word seed phrase, you will not have to worry about any complexities that come with the other ways if you just memorize the words. However, not having any backups might be going too far for most people.
    photo-1617791160536-598cf32026fb.jfif

  • Never enter your seed phrase on a website you haven’t researched
    There are a lot of scammers in the Crypto space, they may pose as representatives from wallet companies or may attract you to with airdrops or free money. But make sure not to give away your seed phrases online under any circumstances.
    congratulations-walmart-shopper-scam-first-second-up.jpg www.pcrisk.com

  • Not print your seed phrase on a public/shared printer
    Last but not least, be careful with the printer used to print the seed phrases. Most printers these days are connected to the cloud which is a risk to users who are printing sensitive information like seed phrases. It is also risky to print the seed phrases from a public printer as they might get access to the information.
    mahrous-houses-5AoOejjRUrA-unsplash.jpg

Hopefully, you guys will remember these 7 important points. Thanks for your love. Join me on Twitter👇
https://twitter.com/blaack_mambaa

Sort:  

Congratulations @blackmamba56566! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends