There's a Mom in the room...

in Axie Buzz3 years ago

Hello Axie Buzz!

I have been an on again, off again hiver for a couple of years now. I get so busy in life that I get out of posting for months at a time, and then I get back into it and become a productive member of the hive society at large.

Recently I have finally learned enough about NFTs and video game crypto to understand a bit about how Axie Infinity works, and OF COURSE I was excited to try and convince my teen son he wants to start playing it (he does love video games, and he's always looking for work to earn money. I was excited to talk him into checking it out ~~ because you know, talking to teens about a Mom idea often lands with a NO! on principle!

We created the Metamask for him. We created the Ronin Wallet. We figured out he can download the game on the computer since the ios is still a beta version. We got him all logged in and ready to play; it was only then that we discovered you can't play until you have 3 axs. And you, reader, know that is a steep price for a teenager to start a game.

Never did I imagine I should have done hours more research before we ever reached that step!!

So, the last two days I have begun the daunting task of learning about Axie Scholarships. I have poured over internet research, reddit posts, coingecko, and am debating which discord servers are actually worth joining to ask my million questions to. Of course then I find my discord needs updated and I am struggling with that due to my linux skills and my one brain cell blinking on and off.

Suddenly the one brain cell blinked on and said "CHECK HIVE!". Of course. The coffee must be kicking in. That has led me here, to an entire community just on Axie! I've been looking at posts, looking for links, looking up any leads on the knowledge I seek between the memes and game adventures and lore contest.

Never, ever, ever~! did I think I would spend this much time researching, to encourage, to help set up, my son to play a video game.

Wish me luck, Axie Buzz. I am hopeful all my hard work will ultimately pay off and my son will not lose patience with Mom's crazy video game idea, and he will end up with a decent scholarship setup that results in him having fun and earning a little bit of money along the way.

And watch out, there's a Mom in the room...

p.s. If any of you have any advice, tips, or tricks to share, please feel free to leave them in the comments for me! I can use all the help I can get....

Sort:  

There are a lot of videos on youtube that will help you learn more about Axie Infinity. FOr the younger audience, it is better to have visuals rather than lots of things to read. I suggest "Axie on the Moon" as well as "Axie Explained" channels in youtube. Also your son should join the discord server of Axie Buzz and be active there :) Participation on the twitter of the community is a plus point as well. More importantly, he can also join here in HIVE~

thank you @grenfunkel for the very helpful tips! He does indeed have a hive, @aurynthenorse has just not been willing to put time into it in a while. I agree that visuals is much better, I will pass on your suggestions on the youtube channels. I don't think anyone in my house is on twitter but the discord is a thing.

Of course then I find my discord needs updated and I am struggling with that due to my linux skills and my one brain cell blinking on and off.

This part ( especially about the single brain cell cracked me up ).

You are an awesome mom!

I am curious where this is gonna lead to :<)

thanks, @vincentnijman! I am curious where this will all lead as well. All of my kids will tell you I am historically very strict about how much time can be spent on "screen" time, and for many years I wouldn't even allow a game system in my house. Even now, while we have a couple, there are not many hours per month spent on them...
As for the brain cell, I think if I had more than one clanking around up there I would have already achieved world dominance!!!

Congratulations @freemotherearth! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List