Mental Roller Coaster || Axie Infinity

in Axie Buzz3 years ago

mental thumbnail.png

Axie Infinity as a Mental Roller Coaster

Axie Infinity has “excavated” more emotions from me than in these past 2 years. This is why I consider Axie Infnity as a “Mental Roller Coaser”. Playing this game has a lot of high and lows. It has given me lots of joy and frustrations due to my sheer stupidity(lots of bad choices) as well as my opponent’s mistakes. Sometimes there are also unexpected events that happen which are beyond me. So let me list these following scenarios!

Nervous


Season 19 is just around the corner. Aside from that there are also new patches or balancing incoming that will arrive. If you have read my previous post, I have recently purchased a new Axie. What makes me nervous is its tail “Grass Snake”. Last season, poison was the main META for top players. “Grass Snake”, despite being a 0 energy card is able to inflict poison as well as give a modest shield. Its popularity may mean an incoming NERF. I hope not.

grass snake.png

Aside from “Grass Snake”, I am also worried about Mr. Suave due to his “Thorny Caterpillar”. This skill is one of the bread and butter skills for a Terminator Axie. Since terminator Axies have proliferated the entire arena, a lot of newer players have been wrecked by them. So it may be possible for Terminator Axie cards to be balanced.

Dismay


The new patch 1.1.1 has not yet brought the biggest changes. Maybe it is still waiting for the season 19 before the balancing changes to appear. The new version however has “excavated” previous problems of Axie Infinity More specifically, “Connecting” issues which has caused the massive downfall of SLP a few months ago. This issue has caused a lot of sleepless nights for me and my friends trying to finish our “Quota” as scholars. Once again, this problem appeared for me these past 3 days. The good news is that I am still able to connect to the arena/adventure after a minute of “connecting” or starting the arena. FYI, I am using my android device when playing. I hope this problem doesn’t get worse or else there will be a lot of players that will leave the game.

connecting.jpg

Hopeful


Despite the “Connecting” issues that I am getting, I am still very hopeful with the game’s rise. Connection issues happened a few months ago due to the massive spike of players entering the game. This could also mean that a lot of new players are onboarding Axie Infnity which directly increases for the demand of new Axies. Though SLP has also been going on a downtrend recently, I am still “bullish” for the upcoming growth that will occur upon the release of Axie Infinity V2. But let me remind you, this is not a financial advice. Zyori, one of the developers have implied that Axie Infinity is a “game first, investment second”.

Schadenfreude


Whenever I play the game, I keep on praying of “Critical Strikes”. When the stars have aligned and Papa Jihoz thinks of me, “Crits” arrive at the most important time. But when I crit a LOT of times, I could not help but laugh at my opponent’s suffering. I do not feel bad when this happens since the opposite also happen to me a lot of times. Therefore I try to enjoy every moment I can lol. I am sure that my opponents feel the same way when they crit me to oblivion. Here is a gameplay video wherein Papa Jihoz blessed me:

 

From Heaven to Hell


Ever had that moment where everything was going all according as plan when suddenly it does not? Just a little bit more till you win but suddenly your opponent survive with a sliver of HP(like 1 or 2 HP left). Then he makes a comeback and you get that gray “DEFEAT”. One could not help but feel salty when that happens. Another scenario is when you have calculated the max damage of the opponent. You know you could survive and defeat your opponent. When suddenly his Axies “Crit”! All plans go down the drain, your win is gone. But it would have been fine if it was a Beast Axie or a high morale Axie that made a crit. No! It was an Aqua Axie with the lowest crit! Here is a video where my opponent made a comeback:

 

Snowball of Depression; Change of Pace


We all have that day when our losses are in a streak. This is not a big problem for me since I own my Axies. But this may be a problem for a lot of scholars. Scholars need to maintain an Daily Average SLP so lose streaks are not favorable for them. This may mean a reduction of the overall cut of the farmed SLP or it may lead to an expulsion by strict managers. Fortunately, I was able to “Graduate” from my scholarship account so I can now play at ease.

Despite knowing that there will be no grave consequence if I were to lose a lot, it still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Losing can lead to a degradation of mental stability of players. This can then snowball till the player loses more and more. “Titlting” is the term used for this scenario. This has happened to me a lot of times. This was also the main reason why I decided to purchase my recent Axie.

Axie blackie_gif.gif
Check my review of this Axie here

At that time, I kept on asking myself, “Do I still want to play Axie Infinity?”. This happened to me when I lost consecutively this offseason till I went down to 1500 MMR. This lose streak happened for at least a week. The negativity kept on snowballing. But I did not give up. At that time, I decided to change my team. “I need to adapt”, I told myself. At first, I was just looking for a way to freshen up my gameplay. I wanted something new! Fortunately, I was able to purchase an Axie that was able to improve my win rate. I also decided not to pressure myself. “I still need practice since this is a new Axie”, I kept telling myself. It worked! I was able to escape the snowball of depression!

Ending: Cool as a Cucumber


Pressure has almost made me give up playing. So recently, I have decided to not burden myself with my losses. I tried to keep myself as chill as possible. I have reduced my goal from 200 SLP/day to 150 SLP/day. Managing my expectations has been a great help for my mental state recently. Not only was I able to push higher in my MMR once again, I was also able to earn an average of 180-200 SLP/day. Though it may be lower than my previous farmed SLP, I am able to maintain a healthier mental state to enjoy the game.

Sort:  

Congratulations @grenfunkel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you!

You're welcome @grenfunkel, nice motivation 😊👍

BTW, it would be much appreciated if you support our proposal on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner so we can continue our work!
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/147
Thank you!