LKP's Axie Log #5: Sniping Floor Axies + I even Bought a New One!

in Axie Buzz3 years ago

What's going on folks?

Erm... It's been a few days since I posted an entry here. I visit the marketplace almost everyday and yesterday was just another ordinary tour. Prices of floor axies are now cheaper and seem to go down a bit every single day. I think I really lucked out on buying my team more than 2 weeks ago, I mean if I just waited at least 3-4 days I might have saved around 20% of my initial capital. That's almost $300! But, all is done so no need to fret about the past. isn't it?

While browsing some of the cheapest Axies on the shelf I noticed that I still have some 0.062 WETH remaining from the funds I used to purchase my team weeks ago. 0.062 WETH is still around $200 currently. I wanted to withdraw but thankfully I checked the gas fees, else I would have regretted this decision.


Marketplace.pngMarketplace Screenshot 8/29/2021

Suddenly, a spark a brilliance came to my mind. What if I bought a floor axie with my remaining weth? Maybe it would be the key for me to reach 1700 MMR? I searched and I found this beautiful plant axie with the following cards/parts: Parasite+Drain Bite+Pumpkin+All-Out Shot. I thought that this would be a good spare for my backliner. With the conditions against beast, I could snipe them with 2 All-Out shot (Chained with some damage cards) and just heal later on with drain bite. I'd also have parasite which is great during late game. It is strong against tanky backlines, can mill the opponents deck and has good atk and def. It's an all rounder!

And then, there's pumpkin. If your opponent only have limited cards to throw because of parasite with just 1 pumpkin it would be a headache to pierce through a full health plant with 3 cards or less. I was about to buy it but after I refreshed the page it was gone. Someone already bought it! I don't what you're opinions are but I think that's a pretty good deal for 0.06 WETH.

So I ended up going with my second option. I have a few major problems with my current line up right now. First, I lack fire power in early rounds. I noticed that most of the time I needed 5-7 cards in one round just to take down the opponents tank. And secondly, having two tanky axies in my current setup I found it hard to deal with a beast who often lands critical hit. With affinity advantage + critical no matter how much shielding I put it just melts like ice cream in a summer day.


Freedy.png
Meet Freddy Mercury

So I bought Freddy Mercury, that's the name of this new Axie. Don't worry I will introduce you to the other three on a separate post. What's special about Freddy? Nothing much(aside from being cheap). He's just plant another chops with some high damage card and an energy gain. I think I played him in 30 matches (both with and without energy) and he did just fine. I used him today as my midline and he performed a bit better than my chops aqua. In 15 battles (with energy) I won 9 out of 15 which is relatively higher compared to my daily average of 7-8 out of 15. It might just be luck though. I still need to test this one in a few more days to say that we did have an improvement.


Skill.png

As you can see the skill set is pretty messed up. Ill omened apply jinx to the target so if I hit a beast with this I can say goodbye to their crits for two rounds. Luna Absorb is a good alternative to Nimo, both have small advantages and disadvantages. Nimo has that extra 30 damage but can miss if ever you're stunned. Freddy only has 440+ health and 40 speed. If I'm not mistaken purebred reptiles and beasts have 41 speed, with acro I can outspeed them after one round. Why So Serious gives me sustain, shield and some decent damage against aquas.

The question is, will I draw the cards I need in the right time? Well, luck is also a part of the game. Against beast/bug/mech it would be great if I can play Ill-omened+acro, against tanks Acro+WSS and finally against birds and aquas Ill-omened+ WSS. I just hope that the right hands play in the right situations. Hehe!

Anyway, here's another one of my battles today.

Well, that's all for now.
See you next time.

Ciao~

Sort:  

Congratulations @lordkingpotato! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation