Photo-essay of the Desert House

in Photo-essay28 days ago

The Photo-essay community hive-14396 is a favorite of mine! I like being able to give a tour or tell a story with my photos, and this is a friendly community to share share my photos in!

The Desert House at the Garfield Park Conservatory in Chicago, Illinois is an amazing place filled with plants that all share a desert environment. Here is a photo tour of some on the prickly plants that can be seen in this massive arid garden under glass.

Although the plants here share an adaptation to a desert environment, this room does not reflect a real desert. . There are plants in this room from Africa, Asia, the Americas and all over the world that, in nature, would not be growing side-by-side or within such close proximity to one another.
source

I think these Golden Barrel Cactus are my favorites. They grow in Mexico and are considered endangered and in some areas have become extinct as a result of wild specimens being poached.

Cacti usually bloom in the spring and summer and many species have flowers that only last for one day.

I love seeing cactus growing in the wild when I travel to arid regions, but seeing them here with their names and place of origin conveniently displayed on a plaque makes it easy to learn more about them.

The Conservatory is free, although donations are accepted. It's a fantastic place to visit when a cold Midwestern winter has begun to wear you down!

5% of this posts rewards go to the photo- essay community hive-14396
5% goes to @ecency

Sort:  

I can’t easily quote specific elements because I’m strictly from the phone - but I agree that seeing plants in this sort of environment is really spectacular. I’ve been really interested lately in plant identification, but it’s super hard without a reliable experience or reference - and this definitely helps!

I always feel that plants are like meeting a new friend. The first thing I want to know about them is their name! Have you used Google Lens? It is a really great source of plant identification

Now that you mention it, I was just starting to use it at our previous home - there were a lot of plants to ID there 🤣 Yeah I think I’ll give that another go! Thanks!

!BEER

Thanks Pix! Thinking of you!

!LUV


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

I have a Desert Rose plant in my garden, and its flowers are very beautiful.

Does it bloom frequently? It is lovely!

Yes, it blooms all year round.looks beautiful. Thank for your kind words.

I agree. The place is fantastic.😊

Cactus bloom only in a day? That's a great information, I never knew they bloomed at all. The conservatory is really an awesome place.

It is a perfect place to see plants from the desert. I only have one picture of a cactus taken on the island of Pag about a month ago. I don't know what kind of cactus it is. I don't know why I don't see it in the gallery. 🤔

That is a variety of Prickly Pear cactus. It is the only cactus that I know of that can survive our cold Wisconsin Winters. The reason you didn't see it inside the conservatory is because they have a large patch of it growing outdoors. It is edible and is often served in Mexican restaurants here. The type we have here gets gorgeous yellow flowers on it and blooms for a long time, although the blossoms only last one day

Wow, Melinda, your photo essay of the desert is absolutely stunning. The way you captured the vast landscapes and intricate details of the desert is truly breathtaking.

For me I was particularly impressed by the way you highlighted the unique plant life and the vibrant colors of the sunset. Your work beautifully showcases the beauty and serenity of the desert. Thanks for sharing Mel

Wow, lots of cactus trees. it was amazing, I really enjoyed it, thank you for sharing❤

I love everything you share about that place. I see that I would need a few visits to see it whole, I would spend hours and hours looking at the plants you share. Thank you for bringing them here. ❤️🤗

I love living in the woods, but am envious of all the nearby opportunities my city kids have to visit places like this! I would be there often, too!

I see your point, but I’m sure you know that, if you had to choose only one of the two places, you would stay where you are. Nature is always better than the noisy and overwhelming city. 😘

They are coming here to spend the next 4 days in the woods, so it goes both ways I guess!

Hello lady @melinda010100
What a beautiful plant conservatory, I really like cacti.
the place you visited is beautiful

Hello dear friend @melinda010100 good morning
This place is a dream, and how many varieties of plants are there.
beautiful photographs
I have always wanted to have a garden just of cacti and succulents, it could be beautiful in my front garden
Have a beautiful day

I’ve never seen where a cactus is growing before even in the picture. That’s amazing
The place is very beautiful though. I love it!

winter has begun to wear you down

Spring is upon us! rejoice!

Fun post. Interesting to see everything together. Some desert environments can seem empty. This conservatory is bursting with variety and blooms.

There are many of these plants that I have not seen before, now I have seen them and after reading your post, my knowledge has also increased.

Reminds me of my house when I lived in Arizona! Lots of cool plants are cacti. You have to be careful not to bump into them!
!LOL